BT Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for BT.

Overall Customer Ratings for BT

  • Satisfaction
    2.8 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.8 stars
  • Speed
    2.5 stars
  • Reliability
    2.8 stars

Based on 225458 customer ratings since 2009-04-02 (Show recent ratings)

Visit BT   Read our BT buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

3,292 Customer Reviews over 83 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Basingsotke
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Unfortunately, I havent a great experience with BT, along of my 10 years with the company I faced many Broadband issues, calling customer services and trying to reach an outcome for my issues. Recently I have as for a good deal trying to renew my contract with the company, however, the customer service didn't even consider 10 years I have been with the company and said they couldn't cover any other offer comparing prices with other broadband suppliers, very disappointed, unhappy, I feel that all that the company doesn't care about the clients it's all about profit. Sadly this company will lose more customers I don't recommend this company to anyone it is problems with the service also the company is not customer-oriented.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Broxbourne
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I’ve had fibre for just over 18 months now. Started off well and was getting a good signal all around the house. Since the start of the year the signal is non existent and router reboots itself at least twice a day without fail. Paying over £45 a month for this service with a phone line is expensive for what it is. BT don’t want to know, they just try and sell you a more expensive expensive service, not sure they understand their current service doesn’t work so why would you pay more for another poor service. Have now cancelled my contract and gone to Virgin 1GB for £10 cheaper a month. Virgin also gave me £100 joining credit. Don’t waste your time with BT as it’s a tin pot service for a gold platted price.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Oxted
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    If I could give BT minus 10 , I would. I ditched them 20 years ago after moving house and had terrible trouble with them even then, poor service , poor reception etc. Since then, I met a new partner last year who had BT and was horrified that he could hardly get any reception. We complained, after 2 months of me shouting at BT , they finally fixed the problem for it to go wrong again 5 months later . They have ignored our complaint and after receiving a letter saying as their package was changing, we could leave. So we changed to Sky with supposedly 6 mths of BT left . Since then they have literally gas lighted and bullied us with conflicting emails and letters forcing us to pay £107 to leave despite earlier no charge info previously and are subtly threatening legal action. My partner is so stressed , he is paying but I will be contacting the Ombudsman about this . They are the most unethical company I have ever dealt with . Please do NOT sign with them, there are cheaper and better options out there
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ashford
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I am appaled at BT and it's behaviour towards customers. I had returned my equipment which they confirmed receipt but the still insist on a charge of £30 for a dish that they claim that they sent me 5 years ago. Also after leaving, they took another direct debit which put my account in credit. I have been bannging my head agaist a wall with their useless customer service to return the money but they promise next week and next week and next week. An absolute disgrace.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wolverhampton
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I became a BT customer as recommended by EE last year.
    I joined last year around mid December.
    Service has been ok till 8th June when there was a loss of service.
    I texted & had a SMS reply that broadband services were affected in my area & will resume on 9th June. I was ok with that. But no further communication came at end of 9th June so I texted & reply came that services will not resume until 14th June.
    Both me & my wife work from home. No internet means no work, no WiFi for children, no CCTV, no Netflix, no Disney.
    I can't tether data connection from my phone to laptop.
    Contacted BT after 25min wait in queue only to find customer rep was no use at all. I explained I have to travel 2 miles to parents house to use their Virgin WiFi. She offered me £40 compensation which was poor. My children have used most of data allowance in 2 days than they would in 1 month. BT only look at profits and not customer care.
    I asked for termination of contract they said only on grounds of 30days poor quality broadband. But the service is crap.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Worst experience with a company in my life.

    Told on multiple occasions they would get my internet sorted. 5-6 times they messed up and it looks like I am 3-4 weeks without internet due to their incompetence.

    Also misled me on switching and couldn't claim compensation.

    An utter joke of a company.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Very unreliable service, I need broadband to work from home but the service with BT has been very unreliable. The connection drops, and I've been without any connection for several long periods of time, the last time being for three weeks. I was told planning permission to work on the road was required, but when the engineer came he told me this was not the truth. This time it has been one week so far. BT were aware of the fault but told me no engineers could come out until after the Jubliee celebrations which I think is unacceptable. I've called BT multiple times and on various ocassions the customer service team have hung up on me. They've also tried to upsell to me as a "resolution" to the issue, but if the basic package does not work why would I pay more money for an unreliable service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bromsgrove
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The worst customer service, you can explain the situation a thousand times and get a brick wall of a response. The “unbreakable” internet we pay a fortune for consistently breaks or is unstable, and yet there is no compensation for this at all in the slightest. What a waste of money and so avoid this if you can.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    sussex
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    went out of contract with bt and bill crept to £67.00 for broadband and bt sport which is charged in advance i paid this but then phoned for a cheaper deal on new contract for the next month bill they assured me bt sport would stay connected till end of term i paid for and then the next day i was cut off so misled and misold as a customer of some years i was disgusted i phoned and was told i would get a refund for lost services i had paid for in advance not good enough am cancelling new contract within first 14 days and wont be back beware i needed a cheaper deal so was to cancel bt sport at end of the month but they lied all recorded beware if your an old customer it will not benefit you not acceptable
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Peterborough
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Broadband drops in and out as it pleases leaving you unable to do anything don’t even contemplate watching a tv program it won’t happen then expect a really long wait on the phone if they pick up at all ! To just be told well I can’t see a fault so if you want an engineer it’s at your own cost ! Worst customer service ever even though I can provide speediest of less than one mg apparently as that’s still getting internet it’s ok although it won’t load their homepage either
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wirral Merseyside
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely disgraceful company. Tied into contract with this useless junk atm can't wait to change
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Kilbirnie
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Worst wifi ive ever used £80 a month for the worst ping for when i play and the worst connection possible horrible download speeds and upload speed i would recommend sse who i have switched back to for near £20 a month for better results 100% never using bt again
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Leeds
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    It's a shame I can't leave minus stars had nothing but connection issues with BT today I decided to cancel my contract and they want to charge me £118 cancellation fee ..Good luck BT see you in court ...nobody but a fool would pay for a service they aren't getting....I look forward to the court case
  • Reviewer
    Location
    LIVERPOOL
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    January 2022 I commenced contract with BT charging £29.99. After 1month they sent a letter saying price has increased from April. April bill was £35.40 including 21p for outside of contract usage. After speaking with them they informed me that the bill is correct and from May's bill £32.77 will be charged due to price increase by the government.
    However by brother called and they are offering the same contract for £30.99. Be aware new customer's they will probably do this with you.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ardgay
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Comments
    We have a guaranteed 1 to 3 mbps with BT, however we struggle to reach 1, my wife cannot work from home as it is so unreliable. We pay around £56 a month for a service that we don’t get.
    BT have refunded money when we have contacted them to state we are less than 1, they have sent an engineer but because the engineer has not provided enough information BT do not believe what I am saying.
    I am trying to leave BT but they are trying to charge over £700 to leave the contract even though their contract states that if I do not get at least 1 mbps the contract can be cancelled with no charge. But due to their own staff not recorded information correctly I am trapped paying for a service I don’t get.
    I spent 1 hour 5 minutes on the phone today and I am no further forward. BT awful broadband in the Scottish highlands even their engineers state this yet they still charge and when you try to leave they try to bully you. My mother in law even raised the broadband and Wi-Fi coverage in our area with our MP, it was raised in parliament yet BT still carry on charging people without being able to provide a reliable service.
    An absolutely shocking customer service from BT, no doubt the big company will no doubt bully us into keeping their inadequate service and we at the remainder of our contract.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    DERRY
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Terrible service the left hand doesn't know what the right hand is doing
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Hemel Hempstead
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    We signed with BT retail in Oct 2021 on the basis their mkt position, customer service levels, and that their superfast fibre would be installed before our 1st leisure business opened in April 2022. It is 12/5/22 and it is still not complete. I have spent most of my 30 year career dealing with the largest companies in the world. I have never ever experienced the level of incompetence with any company, large or small, as I have with BT. I still cannot believe a company of BT's size and market position can be so incredibly bad. No department knows what the other department is doing. Numerous engineers turn up to do the same job weeks apart. We have had to go out and buy our own 4G routers from Vodafone just so we can open the business whilst we wait for BT to finish. They are months late and still cannot admit fault. They say our issues have been "escalated", but do not be fooled, this does absolutely nothing. I would strongly suggest you look for a smaller provider that is organised and takes care of their customers. If I could go to another provider I would but BT have locked us in for 3 years.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Fulham
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Overall the worst customer service. They blocked our line by accident because a neighbour was switching providers and they incorrectly registered our wifi. They then refused to accept they made a mistake and werent able to fix the mistake until over a week later leaving us stranded without wifi working from home. No compensation, no immediate action. Their customer service staff are incompetent and cause more problems than solve them.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Leeds
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    A complete false start. We opted for a new aerial and explained that we live in a 3 story house. Their engineer came out and informed us that they couldn't fit an Aerial and would have known that had they been informed by BT, which they weren't. BT's response was that I Could either pay for it to be done myself at a cost of £360 or they could just cancel the TV part of our package. No effort at all to find a solution, no empathy at all and the ownus put on us to find a solution. We ended up staying with our current provider.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheddar
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Very happy customer! Install was spot on, install the fibre all with no charge,that didn't look like a small job. On BT fiber 900 speed over Lan 950-1gb. So fast and so far very reliable'-)
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Manchester
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE.
    ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE.
    They don't know their own processes and don't make concessions even if they're in the wrong.

    They asked that I return my hardware equipment at the end of my contract as I was moving address. They said go into any EE store and drop it off, it couldn't be easier. I arrived at EE and was told that they have never accepted routers etc. so I called BT from the store to ask what was going on and why they had wasted my morning by advising to take the equipment to EE. They apologised and said they'd send out a returns bag instead so I could send the equipment back. I gave them all the details of my new address as I was no longer living at the old address, and thought nothing of it.

    The next time I hear anything, it's my old landlord calling up to say there's a bag addressed to you from BT. Obviously they've sent it out to my old address. After calling up again and explaining the series of errors from BT, I was then told I still had to return the hardware or I'd be charged. So after wasting nearly 8 hours of my time. They wouldn't waive a £50 charge.

    It was out of circumstance that I left BT, but I'll be cancelling my business broadband and EE contacts now and won't be back again. Treat people better and you may manage to keep some customers. But I won't be one of them.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Burley
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely disgusting service from BT WiFi

    Just to waste my time further after numerous texts and 2.5 hours on the phone

    Complaint Number VOLO13- 680299153906

    No WiFi for months the service team are a waste of space.
    Promised a tech to home address, no tech and informed complaint closed by email
    Numerous phone calls and waiting in a queue

    Useless

    My account is up for renewal so obviously with this diabolical service I cancel it

    Nobody wants to speak about the three months I’ve been robbed by you taking my money and no service so no surprise all I get is a lady who wants to explain the costs of my closing the account

    You lot should wear a mask.. robbing scumbags
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Eastbourne
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Change to bt broadband, the package had the word fibre in it, so i presumed i was getting the high speed fibre i asked for. It's dire, can't even stream a film. Impossible to get to speak to anyone. Their customer service is structured so you cannot speak to anyone. will just have to pay double to get out of the dire service provision and go to a company that can provide what they say they will.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Flintshire
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I had the unfortunate pleasure of speaking to your support team who were very rude and unhelpful. I pay for Fibre 2. As a person who is not a fibre engineer I was under the impression and mislead to believe I was paying for fibre Internet. This is apparently half the case. Apparently I get fibre to a cabinet on my street then the fibre goes to my Copper wire to the house. I'm not a scientist but I know fibre which is light passing through tiny glass fibres will not go through metal I.e the copper.


    I only get WiFi without issue in my livingroom. I live in a bungalow and the other 6 rooms get hardly any WiFi. I pay an additional fee for guaranteed speeds yet your customer service tell me that if there speed check says I get a speed then it's not there problem if I don't get the service inside the property.... how is this even morally right?? Paying for a service I don't get and your team say its not there problem. You won't allow me to have an engineer out, you will however send me another disc for a charge. While I am paying for nothing already I don't believe I should be paying for another disc.


    I have two discs already which won't connect to the router when you leave the room yet your customer service believe if I have another one it will magically work. I definitely don't need 3 discs and a router in my livingroom ... yes I will have WiFi in my livingroom which may be better but it still doesn't solve the issue of the WiFi in other rooms.


    Hopefully you will be able to shed some light on why you offer something you call fibre which isn't fibre? Also could you explain why I have to stay paying for a service that doesn't work and you won't help me with and insist I pay you nearly £700 to get out of the contract when I can get real life fibre which is called fibre and is fibre with a different company who will give me the product I was told I would get.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Somerset
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Avoid Avoid Avoid continuous low speeds, was put on the best deal for broadband, was guaranteed a certain speed, this was not working for us! Bad connection and very slow, we were offered disks which added to my monthly bill, many more times with the speed being a issue! Rung today with yet more problems! My speed is guaranteed 65 I think! The call advisor was shocked that it was only 2 no £100 cash for continuous issues with speed etc, am not allowed to leave without paying a fee!!! Absolutely shocking service! I can not wait for my contract to end
  • Reviewer
    Location
    NG33 4PA
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    No Internet since the 27th April, no contact from BT Broadband, no date for fixing, terrible, terrible customer service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Coventry
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    2 months of dealing with an absolute joke of a company and got nowhere.

    My contract was out of date with the company, and have decided to renew my contract with BT on the 23rd February. This renewal process required me to change from the old Wifi connection to the new 'Fibre to Premises' Broadband which is connected to a new line. The renewal process also required a new hub and landline equipment to be delivered, which was delayed; I was promised the new equipment would arrive within 1 to 2 working days, instead it arrived 2 weeks later after raising a complaint a few days after I renewed my contract with them, which was very inconvenient for me because we have no safe place to store parcels, causing me to wait every morning in case I have to open the door for the delivery driver to accept delivery from them.

    We also required an engineer to be sent out to us on behalf of BT to fit a new socket in the premises as it was required for the new equipment to work, as we were switching to 'Fibre-to-Premises' broadband, in which the engineer that was sent out by BT failed to turn up twice.

    The engineer was first booked in to fit a new socket inside the premises on the 15th of March. We requested to the BT employee we renewed our contract with that if he could tell the engineer to contact us half an hour before arrival so we could open the door for the engineer, which he promised to do,t so but no texts from the engineer were received on that day. The engineer also failed to turn up at all, and not only that, our old Wifi connection was cut off, leaving me with no internet from the old Wifi connection I previously had, and no connection from the new 'Fibre to Premises' Wifi as the engineer failed to fit a new socket in for the new equipment that arrived late.

    We waited on that day until evening, a few hours after the engineer was supposed to arrive at the latest time scheduled, I called BT to ask what was the issue with the engineer not being able to turn up, in which one of the employees of BT replied to me that the engineer noted that he attempted but failed to gain access to the premises, and I argued that we already requested that the engineer must contact us half an hour before arrival so he could be let in, in which I had not received at all. (BT failed to investigate this matter properly and was unsatisfied with the answers they have given me when asked about the first engineers failure of arrival.) We also asked about our WiFi being completely cut off in which we needed an internet connection to properly operate my business:

    Without WiFi, this situation caused various issues within my business. We needed access to WiFi as we operate an EPOS system as well as a card machine, in which a WiFi connection is required for those systems to function. During the times without internet connection, we couldn't provide card payment as an option to customers, and our software which manages online orders was failing to work as it requires an internet connection to accept online orders made by our customers. This heavily affected my business. I will mention more of that further in this letter.

    Going back to the question I asked the BT employee over the phone about my old WIFI being cut off completely, and the 'Fibre to Premises' broadband not being installed, we wanted to know why our old WiFi was cut off without our new wifi installed, in which they replied to me that they have not checked that the new WiFi failed to go live. I should mention that I still had my old WiFi connected on that day before 5 pm but they decided to cut the old WiFi off around that time without having to check what had happened and that they also mentioned that this shouldn't have happened. I was then promised that our old WiFi will go back live as I wait to reschedule a new appointment for the engineer to install the new sockets but was told that the old WiFi will go back live within 2 days (17th of March.) I was not happy about this as it was an urgent matter and requested that the engineer come and fit new sockets in ASAP, but they told me that all the engineers are booked for the day and that I need to call tomorrow instead to make a booking.

    We called again, the day after the engineer was supposed to turn up to schedule a second appointment for the engineer to fit new sockets inside the premises, and the earliest they could do was on Friday 18th March as they said that all the engineers we're booked and that was the earliest they can do. They then also mentioned that the old WiFi will not go back live as it has been completely cut off 3 days before the engineer was first supposed to come, which was not mentioned to me by the colleague I spoke with the day before. I was extremely unhappy with what I was told overall up until this point, as I felt that I was only told what I wanted to hear rather than the truth, as it felt like they are refusing to fully understand the issue itself.

    With no other choice, I waited for the engineer to turn up at the premises that were scheduled on Friday from 13:00 - 18:00, and have also requested that the engineer call us half an hour before arrival so he could be let in. Again the engineer failed to text me or even arrive at all. I called BT again to see what had happened, in which they replied to me that the engineer had hit issues with the logging system and the task to fit new sockets in the premises failed to upload on his device. Before this, we were given information and contact details to the engineer by one of the colleagues of BT I have scheduled with for an engineer to arrive for the second time, should we have any issues or to see if he was arriving, but the engineer failed to reply to any of my texts or calls even after when he was supposed to arrive the latest. He only read my text but that was it from the engineer. What was also mentioned to me as well was that we were not supposed to have any contact details of the engineers at all, even though it was given to me by one of the colleagues of BT.

    With that second failure, we decided to discontinue this process of renewal, and file a complaint about the loss of financial business. Our WiFi was cut off for 3 days (From 15th - 18th March, and signed up to a new internet provider on the 19th of March), and as the majority of our customers pay by a card, my loss of business was quite substantial within those 3 days

    This case was then referred to the escalation manager, I was given a few choices and I chose to accept a form of an offer in form of their suggested reimbursement. Unfortunately, they were not able to reimburse me the amount I requested which I said I was unhappy with. She then said she will transfer the case to the complaints team which will call me on the 30th of April before I reach a deadlock. (which also has not happened.) However, I did receive a text on the 7th of April in which I have been told that I have reached a deadlock and have now decided to file a claim in this matter.

    During this whole ordeal, the customer service was extremely appalling, worse than any other service I have dealt with. With calls being transferred endlessly and constantly being hung up on, and calls lasting hours each day the BT team has poor communication with each other, and notes are not being taken properly based on the things I have said. I requested around 2 weeks ago that I need all the notes that were taken down, names and times of people I have spoken to since 23rd February, which I still have not received.

    On top of that, there was another issue in regards to my billing. There have been issues with my billing since 2018, in which I believed I was being overcharged. When this was being investigated by one of the colleagues of the BT billing team, he has stated that it was a double charge, and would refund me the amount I was double-charged for from January 2020, but would need to request permission to access the archives to see my bill dating back since 2018. That person then told me that he will call me a few days later once he has received the archives. A few days later I had no call, but then days after that, one of the case handlers of BT, called me about an existing case I had with her about the engineer failing to turn up, I mentioned that I was supposed to receive the call from the billing team, but the case handler told me that he has closed the case for no reason. So I have to spend even more time trying to get the case reopened and reinvestigated, but instead of it being investigated by the person I first spoke to about this, it would be investigated by the case handler. The case handler then called me a few days later after this and also told me that I was double-charged after asking why I was charged high each month. Once she mentioned that, she then took the case to the escalation manager, so she can look further into it. After this, the escalation manager called me to tell me that it wasn't a double charge but was me being out of contract from October 2020. I testified that I was still being overcharged even when I was in the contract before October 2020, which she didn't even check before she called me. She then was adamant that I was not being falsely charged and was my being out of contract was the issue. I am unsatisfied with this resolution and with the answers, I have received due to there being so many different reasons and answers and a lack of commitment given to me by various BT employees for this matter respectively.

    Overall, horrible experience, lasting from 15th March up until now with nothing resolved. Constantly being hung up on, with notes not being taken down properly, and with employees having no idea what to do, or knowing what was happening with my billing after receiving different answers within a month. Their communication with each other is shocking, and only tells me things I want to hear rather than the truth, whilst making false promises over false promises. Absolute joke of service, and I have spoken to more than 20 different BT employees, 1 escalation manager who failed to commit to an investigation properly, and a complaints manager who has yet to contact me even though they were supposed to on the 30th of April.

    And to take things further, endless amount of letters from BT telling them that I owe them when I have since canceled.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Paid for 1 day subscription. The moment I paid my login credentials were no longer accepted.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Worse company to provide broadband service for this generation!!!

    I am a BT customer for more then 3 years and previously I had issues with the broadband speed with BT and currently I have the same issues plus they increase the monthly payment from £30.99 to £35.45 for the worse internet service and speed is only 57 MB. I tired to speak to the customer service few times and they were unprofessional and didn't resolve my problem. later I asked them to cancel the BT broadband and they asked my to pay cancelation fees £195. unbelievable!!.

    Even I was with BT for long time, they did not value their customers and told me that they don't care and they can't do anything about it.
    So, now I have to pay £35.45 for Worse internet service where they promised it will be £30.99 per month. I do understand they increase their price every year but from 30.99 to £35.45 is not acceptable for only broadband with the speed is only 57MB. where other service provider offering full fibre optic broadband speed 1GB for £30 per month. (everyone can check online).

    So, My advice will be to not get any contact with BT as they don't value their customers and they will put you trough the same situation which I am having right now.

    Please search for other providers for better service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Brighton and Hove
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Rubbish experience. They steal money directly from your debit and when confronted customer service is appalling, lie and treat you like ****. Worst company I’ve had to deal with. You managed to steal £10 but you lost a customer, and I will make sure to tell all of my acquaintances of this! Just terrible!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Staffordshire
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    My BT Broadband Started Off £27.99 pcm But BEWARE.. BT increase Your Bill VERY QUICKLY and Without informing You...My Bill has increased Without BT informing Me of This Change They've just Took it Out ...I Rang to Complain and i felt my Complaint Went On Deaf ears Was given no Apology No Offer of goodwill to keep its Customers Nothing Considering a Complaint Was made and a Unhappy customer which alot other provider's do..Also Customer service staff are Not very unhelpful Not very Compassionate & talk to You like There reading from a Police book.. You may as Well talk to a Brick Wall.. I Feel BT are just Takers who don't care about Customers And they need To improve there Customer service Staff & Care about there Customers More ...
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Lanark
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Now 4 weeks with no landline and poor broadband. Passed from department to department. Have to explain issues over and over again. Engineers did not fix issues. They do not honor arranged call backs and pass the buck. A total of almost 15hours of my time trying to resolve this with so far no joy.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    N ireland
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Trying to use hot spots and every time I ring to find out why I cannot get sorted they say my account needs to be activated. Then they tell me it’s sorted to log in and I then get locked ou so they tell me to ring back in 30 minutes and it starts all over again. Awful Awful customer service. Still not sorted.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Clydebank
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Bt broadband is OK but open reach are about as much use as a litre bottle of hot sauce in the desert. You'll get repeatedly asked to wait in the house for people that will never show up.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Nottingham
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    How to provide to world's worst customer service by BT:
    1. Arrange a call - and then never call
    2. Pass the customer around from agent to agent - never use the same agent twice
    3. Don't try to fix the underlying issue, just keep cancelling and rerising the order
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Swansea
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I used Bt brand for 2Yeas contract. From last quarter without informed Bt increased monthly cost double. When sighed the contract BT says on the phone my broadband price will be same. I won’t recommend any people buy Bt broadband Bt will increase prices without asking you
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Terrible customer service. Our internet hub doesn't work properly (BT's fault not ours). In the past to fix this error they would send us a booster plug in, but now they're saying that having a broadband with them only guarantees that you'll have internet service in only one room of the house. And if we want internet service in more than one room we have to pay extra. Shocking customer service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sheffield
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolute dissatisfaction, Terrible customer service, very poor connection, moved supply was the only thing I could do, BT offered £25 refund for 2 years of poor service!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Swanwick
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Knew we had to move house so gave ghem the date 2 months before do it would be a smooth transition . 2 months later still not connected really disappointing . Looking at the reviews they are mainly bad so I suppose it doesn't matter that they are bad they seem to get away with it . Bt you are a mess
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Inverness-shire
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Worst company I've ever had to deal with!
    Set up adverts for by business and charging me with no concent, then refunding the money immeadatly once issue raised, however I asked BT not to refund me as I wanted to take it further as it was illegal in the first place. They hung up and refunded my money through no choice of my own, this is an illegal scam by BT! Watch your business bills, it's hidden way down in the brakedown of the bills. Not easy to fined or workout what it was for. Absolute scam by BT! I threatens a loyer and they hung up an refunded the money. I wanted to take them to court. I have collected all the data for a case.
    BT do not refund money ever normally, I have had so meny problems with BT and there service, nothing is ever fixed, refunded, or replaced for free. They are the worst business I've ever had to deal with by a long way in my +20 years of business!!!

    AVOID BT!!!!

    WORST COMPANY EVER.....

    PLEASE NOTE, IF YOU WANT A CHEEPER DEAL WITH BT, SAY 'LEAVING BT' when asked by automated phone system what you want. If you say 'LEAVING BT' they put you through to a different call service center. This call center has access to diffrant BT contract deals that are matched against the open market, ie contracts that are the same cost as other suppliers.
    If you don't say 'LEAVING BT' then you go to the normal BT sales team. This team only have access to the BT deals NOT matched against the market, just deals at BT's insane prices....
    BE AWARE OF THIS BT SCAM! (along with the advertising scam and the general terrible service).

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.