John Lewis Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for John Lewis Broadband.

Recent Customer Ratings for John Lewis

  • Satisfaction
    2.7 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    2.5 stars
  • Reliability
    2.7 stars

Based on 385 customer ratings since 2019-10-27 (Show all time ratings)

Visit John Lewis Broadband   Read our John Lewis buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

695 Customer Reviews for John Lewis Broadband

Reviewer Location Reviewing Date Ratings
Astonishingly poor. Like others here service suddenly lost due to a network issue..not line. Long meaningless illogical discussion with JL..reset etc etc. Then just it was a network fault and you end up in online ticket system which they just ignore and delete. You can can only respond online ..but you have no service to do so.

Just demand you pay but will not provide any service.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Hereford John Lewis Broadband  
Reported to John Lewis on Jan 2nd, connection is dropped around ten times each day for exactly 2.5 minutes each time. According to John Lewis it is now fixed but as the dropped connection log below shows it remains exactly the same. This problem started when we switched from EE to John Lewis, paying almost double the previous rate for a fibre extra service which is really not acceptable.

Net Uptime Monitor Failure Log (NetUptimeMonitor.com)
Licensed to nick sheron

=======================================
12/01/2019 17:20:52 Log Start
---------------------------------------
Failure Start Length
12/01/2019 17:22:38 0:02:17
12/01/2019 19:34:34 0:02:28
12/01/2019 19:58:48 0:02:29
12/01/2019 20:11:38 0:02:28
12/01/2019 20:35:03 0:02:28
13/01/2019 06:48:49 0:02:26
13/01/2019 07:45:51 0:02:27
13/01/2019 08:21:08 0:02:28
13/01/2019 08:54:08 0:02:26
13/01/2019 11:10:13 0:02:25
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
winchester John Lewis Broadband  
Sadly this is actually Plusnet :-(

Together with usual lies from Plusnet - I was told that I wouldn't have to pay the increased monthly charge (on the phone and via e-mail) ... today I get an e-mail that my INCREASED payment will be taken.

I have been with Plusnet for 8 years, they have started to lie in the last 2 years and why I left them, and joined John Lewis ..... who are actually Plusnet and being marred by the same brush.

I would give ZERO stars if only I could ....... John Lewis needs to dump the pathetic lying Plusnet!!!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Tadley John Lewis Broadband  
Wow, how did not come across all these reviews earlier. Similar nightmare here..
Been with Plusnet, BT and now John lewis, all the same group (incl EE).
Within the first 5 days have had at least 6 disconnections at random times, support says, 'all ok 10 day training period?', thats ADSL not Fibre! Package ordered was 80/20 fibre extra, found out I was on 55/10, did they refund me, no of course not. Zyxel router supplied by JL on firmware version 10, current release 21? Would they update this for me? 'will happen in time'...cannot understand why I have so many issues, no engineer of course...first 10 days sir...

Please, save yourself the hassle, there is something very wrong here at JL, go elsewhere if you have a choice. As I have been with other isp's that use the same infrastructure BT and plusnet (without any issues), I can only conclude the supplied zyxel 8924 b10a modem/router is at fault, how I do not know. Next time I get a disconnection I will replace the zyxel with the BT home hub 6 or the old and still trusted HG612 3b modem in conjunction with my own choice of router.

Good luck out there! Stay away if you can. Will update after I swap out the hardware with old BT smart hub and/or HG612.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
london John Lewis Broadband  
Switched to JL Broadband and can't wait for contract to end. Continually dropping service, slow speeds. Had same devices/usage with previous provider and no issues before, so why now? All engineers keep saying is everything looks good on the line and want to send someone out but if no fault found they'll charge me £50
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
North Staffordshire John Lewis Broadband  
Truly shocking customer service; lack of consistency when dealing with complaints; can’t get hold of manager; issues with my DD which they still haven’t resolved 4 months later!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Manchester John Lewis Broadband  
Don't.
We have been struggling with our JL broadband service from joining. Inconsistent connections and slow speeds are what you eventually are bound to. PLEASE read the Terms and conditions... they DO NOT GUARANTEE WIRELESS CONNECTIVITY. Which basically says it all.
Unfortunately we are going to have to pay for the remainder of our term but are looking to another provider to switch asap. Not worth it.
Disappointed in John Lewis, we joined with good faith in the brand.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Birmingham John Lewis Broadband  
Pathetic Broadband service, JL is not providing Parental control, it has mentioned in the web site but actually not comes with it. Very disappointing, Customer services/Technical support also did not know the parental control is available, waist few phone calls, (long calls) then found out its not comes with the package, Got kids home, now we are stuck to service for one year, cannot even cancel it.

Signup month ago, when receive the service it took more than three weeks. only found out about parental control after received the service, but still too late to cancel as customer services.


Call wait time is more than 20-30 minutes any time during the day.

I think JL is the only ISP who is not provide Parental Control

Very very disappointed.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Oxford John Lewis Broadband  
Don't touch them !!
Customer and Technical support is rubbish.
Just had a bill for £128 for a service which hasn't worked for 8 months and they are surprised I'm moving to a different supplier and hope I will change my mind. They wish !!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Cornwall John Lewis Broadband  
Shocking from the start, delays to my installation then the speeds were below my minimum guaranteed speed and always dropping out going hours with no internet. AVOID
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Northampton John Lewis Broadband  
How this company has a license to even advertise broadband is beyond me .
When I first set up my connection well in advance they couldn't even get that right. After being lied to numerous times telling me I am connected which was simply not true. When calling the so called customer services to find out why my connection hadn't happened I was just palmed of with a load of jargon of technical rubbish. Also without being rude or shouting they will just simply hang up on you when they can't give you a reasonable answer.
Thankfully out of contract with them and never to return. I would advise anyone looking for a reputable Broadband supplier never sign up with John Lewis.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Ashington John Lewis Broadband  
Do not switch to JL broadband, the speed and reliability are very poor. Our fibre JL service is slower and more expensive than our old BT copper service. Big mistake and currently trying to get out of deal, who regulates this industry??!!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Tonbridge John Lewis Broadband  
I have recently transferred to JL Broadband and it has been a big mistake. I didn't receive a router and so I have ended up purchasing one myself because despite numerous attempts to contact them, including raising a formal complaint, they haven't responded. I would avoid.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
London John Lewis Broadband  
I don't know if their internet service is worse than anyone else's, but the complaints service is the worst I have ever come across. They make all sorts of promises to you over the phone that they rarely if ever keep. My problem which I reported 11 days ago is still not fixed. They have so far promised me 4 times that someone will call me back to discuss my technical problem, but on one ever has.

They send you an email in response to your complaint, but note this: if they were professional, this email would summarize the complaint and tell you when you could expect to have if fixed. However, the email says nothing about the complaint, all it says is that the complaint will be automatically cancelled after 11 days – whether it is fixed or not!

I have asked several times to speak to a manager, but no manager is never available. If I say I want the problem fixed, they say they can't do in now and I have to wait.

The router is very poor and doesn't work through brick walls.

The speeds are sometimes very low and no amount of complaining makes any difference.

They seem to work in the principle that if they mess you around for long enough you will stop complaining and then they won't have to do anything.

So the bottom line is: all they ever do is to lie to you and give you the run-around. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
North Hampshire John Lewis Broadband  
Awful, incompetant, couldn't give a damn service from a supposedly good company. John Lewis Broadband is provided by Plusnet, and their service is the worst I have ever encountered. Long times on hold, terrible loud hold 'music', every month the bill is wrong and I am overcharged, customer support staff are incompetent and sometimes arrogant, they don't get back to you when they say they will. Unbelievable awful bad service. Very frustrating an annoying and - I am moving over to the Coop. Be warned - this outfit give a terrible service!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
SOMERSET John Lewis Broadband  
I wouldn't mind so much if this was a cheap service - but it's not. The webmail regularly crashes for hours and it's got substantially worse since the Autumn. The Customer Service is awful - blames BT a lot doesn't do anything. And the advertising! I feel like complaining directly to the Advertising Standards Authority. If all these suppliers are as bad (beginning to wonder) might as well be with someone cheap and nasty.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Bedford John Lewis Broadband  
Lousy, struggling to a speed above 0.6mb/s despite promise of 1.5. No customer service after 6.00pm. Difficult surf at times and can't complete my online study. When I can speak to someone I will be trying to get contract cancelled. Best left, go elsewhere.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Poole John Lewis Broadband  
Oh dear !
What has happened to the excellent service John Lewis used to supply ?
Email website down, refusal to recognise me on the login page, 30 minute waiting time to answer a call, and no email address to send a complaint to !
Seems I am up the creek without a paddle...
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Wells John Lewis Broadband  
Truly, a terrible service. Support staff are pleasant, but have no answer to continual service failures, and download speeds constantly below 2.0 Lowest speed recorded 0.29 And this in Greater London. During previous failures, they had me co-operating in various on-site tests, without finding any fault. Now they want to do it again. I'm on the brink of simply cancelling my direct debit, in effect challenging them sue me in the county court. I'll be good and ready.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Romford John Lewis Broadband  
Hopeless company.

My already poor speed of 5mb/s with Bt/Plusnet/EE over 6 years dropped immediately to 2-3mb/s with JLB. It has not improved since. Of course, if you want to cancel you have to ring them up yet EVERYTHING else, including paying them money, is done online. Funny that.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    3 stars
North Devon John Lewis Broadband  
They give you the worst possible speeds until you call them and ask them to fix it. They then feed you some technobabble jargon that even they clearly don’t understand and unthrottle your speeds. Then if you power ever goes out or if you need to unplug your router for whatever reason. You’ll have to do all of it again. Couldn’t recommend less.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
South London John Lewis Broadband  
They have introduced a new payment system which is a disaster. They have no idea what they are doing. You wait 44 minutes for someone to answer the phone. The online 'my account' is 'unavailable'. Their direct debit reversed itself out of my account as they applied for it a day before they said they would. My bank said they had no control over it. Since then it has been a catalogue of errors, apologetic emails, then today threatening emails. I have complained to the Chairman of John Lewis about the poor service and the awful reputation they are giving the Partnership. When I first joined them 4+ years ago for my phone in London, they were great. Now, they are absolutely not. If I want appalling customer services then go to the cheap providers, or BT. You do not expect it from John Lewis. I am going to Zen who provide an excellent service for me at the house in Norfolk.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Central London John Lewis Broadband  
I have just left John Lewis (June) and my main complaint of many I have, is with the cash. Whatever deal you strike with them, on every anniversary it is removed and you have to renegotiate it and get your refund. Having got the refund, twice now the refund was ignored and reinstated to my account. Now I've left I don't suppose I'll ever get back to my original deal and get my refunds. Watch this company they delight in adding bits of charges to your account and then you will waste a day on the 'phone to sort it out. It has got worse in the last year, I wonder why?
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    2 stars
North West John Lewis Broadband  
I have been with John Lewis broadband for 8 months now, in which time we've had several problems with the connection speed and reliability. When calling to discuss, customer service has been relatively bad and not offered satisfactory answers.

After 8 months, they decided to put the price up, despite still offering the original price to new customers. Luckily this meant there was a window to leave without paying the early termination fee!

I shall not be recommending this service or using it again myself in the future. It's a shame that the John Lewis brand has been stuck on this poor quality service.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Bridlington John Lewis Broadband  
Avoid John Lewis for Internet! My internet keeps cutting off. I can't watch Netflix, Amazon, BBC iplayer on my smart TV for longer than 30mins and then I have wait to for an hour or two hours before it works again and then it cuts off again. I don't get wifi on the 1st floor of my house. Only on the ground floor. I'm so disappointed with JL. The only good thing is that JL tries to help, they do the the line testing over the phone. They have sent me two new routers but they BOTH don't work! Maybe its Plusnet that its rubbish. I've been paying £35.00 monthly for a rubbish service. I also doubt that the technical department's knowledge. I don't think they know what they are doing. Over price for what they are offering.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Surrey John Lewis Broadband  
Worst Company ever. Stay away.
They forgot to close my account, over charged me and now cant refund my account (they say).
They want to send me a check when i an no longer residing in the UK!!!

Worst ever. No consideration...
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Ilkley John Lewis Broadband  
Just came from over priced BT, i have more than halved my monthly costs, but it shows why, BB speeds are dreadful, even though they say the line is fine, i was getting with BT from a ADSL line a good 7 mb DL speed and a ping of constant 29/30
Now with LJ, i have had 0.33 DL and a ping of 1403, it is up and down and isn't stable, JL is Plusnet, i tried to leave but im too late as ive just gone over my 14 days, stuck with them for a year of headaches, maybe a better router will help, as they did say theirs is crap!! avoid.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Norfolk John Lewis Broadband  
This is the most problematic braodband service I have ever had, I'm trapped in the contract, the service has never been consistent since it was installed 3 months ago I am on ZyXEL router number three and I've had 10 - yes 10, BT Openreach engineers at my property trying to reslove the problem. BT say it's not their fault and John Lewis say it's not theres, I'm stuck in he middle with John Lewis threatening me if I don't pay my month bill.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
WALLSEND John Lewis Broadband  
I changed to John Lewis recently, and needed help , phoned there help line, all you get is loud music, nobody says anything at all, I am seriously thinking of cancelling already, the service is hopeless. so much for the John Lewis name. I really thought I could rely on them WRONG AGAIN ;
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
U.K John Lewis Broadband  
I was with Greenbee (John Lewis) email provider since it started. Suddenly last November emails began to be very slow, and now I can't access them from late afternoon until late evening. When I ask JL what is happening, they say they have 'technical issues which we are working to resolve'. I rely on emails for communication with doctors etc. and am very disabled. I am stuck, because I just don't have capability of changing. Thanks a bunch, John Lewis.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
London John Lewis Broadband  
Worst internet provider ever had.
Stay away! A month has passed, already had a engineer visit and still no problem solved.

Took them a month to realize there was a real problem...I was even told my phone and tablet where the cause of the problem....
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Ilkley John Lewis Broadband  
broadband it low and often drops, for a rural area like this, it is passable,
customer service on the other hand is just not up to the job, JL snt me an email telling me there were problems with their system and they could not collect my direct debit on time, and they would inform me when they would collect it, they sent me an email saying it will be collected on or after the 13th, so they decided to collect it on the 12th, funds were placed in my bank on the 12th to cover the direct debit on the 13th, needless to say my once perfect record with my bank has now gone, I will be charged for their incompetence, and all they do is ignore my emails, on top of this they are saying now because I have not paid my account will be restricted, and would you believe their online payment through your account has been down for days, so even though I am trying to pay, I can't, needless to say I will be taking my custom elsewhere,
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
bala John Lewis Broadband  
I have been a John Lewis broadband customer for 3 months now and have already started thinking to quit. Problem started since the the order of the service where it took 14 days to activate the service. Since then there is no ending of the problems with the internet speed. I have 17Mbps plan and have been living with the speed from 0Mbps to 5 Mbps with continuously erratic speed of internet. Raised complaint and called customer care multiple times but the issue remains same. Reaching out the customer care service is a pain. There are different teams/departments within John Lewis who seems to be totally disconnected. One agent does not have any idea what has been done by other. When called the customer service and discussed the speed issue, first of all the agent was not at all agreed that there is a problem with the internet speed. After a while, after talking over the phone and troubleshooting, finally they agreed that there is a fault from there side. Since, then the speed seems to be erratic and inconsistent. I am loosing the hope now and thinking to come out of the contract based on the pathetic product and customer service i have received so far. A huge disappointment on the product provided by the brand name like John Lewis.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Slough John Lewis Broadband  
Have been a John Lewis customer for many years, and thought we would switch to their broadband, having had nothing but trouble from Plus Net during the last year or so.When we had problems Plus Net were of no help at all. We were informed on Friday 8th November by John Lewis , following my phone call as to when we could expect their activation , that it was being set up during that phone call,but
here we are the following Monday 11th, to find that despite the assurance,I still could not receive or send emails, this is despite a further phone call on the Friday , when I was informed that someone would definitely call me back later that afternoon ,once the problem had been identified and sorted. This left me with the only other option,to go into Southampton into the Apple store , where they sorted my Mac book, enabling me to get mail etc. However on returning home I found that my iPhone and I pad still had the problems re emails, So I will now have to go back to the apple store Wednesday to sort it.
This lack of customer care ,I had come to expect from Plus Net ,but certainly not from John Lewis , and this sloppy service will do nothing but harm to the John Lewis name.
So my decision to switch to John Lewis broadband may have been one big mistake.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Southampton John Lewis Broadband  
My broadband speed since joining John Lewis has dropped off to around 1 MBPS ( 0.45 MBPS at it's lowest) in the evenings, basically un-usable. I keep reporting it, and their Technical team keeps re-setting it, but it simply drops off again within days. I'm being told that they can't cancel my contract, because ( apparently) there isn't a fault on the line. So OFCOM it is then !!!
I've given a one star for broadband speed, overall satisfaction and broadband reliability because I can't give a zero, which is what it deserves. Look elsewhere people !!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Anglesey John Lewis Broadband  
Started ok, but after a line fault it took over 8 weeks to sort out, mainly down to customer service not being able to do anything other than what their computer screen said. As this service is run by plusnet, i'd stay clear of both.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Cornwall John Lewis Broadband  
Do not take out Broadband or phone line with JL, I called them to notify them I was moving in 2 weeks and they my broadband and phone that day. Refused to try and reconnect me. I took out another contract with another provider and know JL have engaged a debt company to cut an early cancellation charge from me. It was JL that cut me off although I was paid up to date! C U in court JL.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Cheltenham John Lewis Broadband  
Stay away from JLB. I have been struggling with their service since i joined in March 2018. Inconsistent speed issue has been there since then and no one bother to resolve the issue. I raised so many queries but no concrete results.
There is so much of disconnect within the JLB team that one does not know what was done by another. Also, their portal has not been working since more than a month and I am not able to make the payment as i am not able to login the my account. Call wait time is > 30 mins which is pathetic. No call back system, no online chat system. Absolutely pathetic infrastructure and worse customer service I have ever had in my entire life.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Slough John Lewis Broadband  
We've had John Lewis broadband for a week now and it's been off more than it's on. We've had one good day's connection so far. We switched from BT because it was woeful and we could never understand their Indian call centres but overall, it's looking pretty good compared with John Lewis. They should have stuck to homewares.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Ipswich John Lewis Broadband  
What a shame that Plusnet who supply John Lewis broadband is giving John Lewis such a bad name. I know from being a John Lewis customer for years and have worked for the company that they do not treat their customers like I have experienced with Plusnet over the last 6 weeks that I have been with them. I only signed up with them because of John Lewis's good name and didn't know anything about Plusnet.
Plusnet add says 'We'll do you proud' No Plusnet, you don't. A note to John Lewis: Dump Plusnet and get a broadband and phone company that can deliver the standard of customer satisfaction that we have come to know and rely on with John Lewis.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Norfolk John Lewis Broadband  

Loading...

  • 695 reviews, showing page 7 of 18, skip to page 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.

Broadband.co.uk