Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Virgin Media.

Recent Customer Ratings for Virgin Media

  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.8 stars
  • Speed
    3.1 stars
  • Reliability
    2.9 stars

Based on 5266 customer ratings since 2020-10-25 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Virgin Media   Read our Virgin Media buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

3,989 Customer Reviews over 100 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    North East England
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    When the internet is working at normal speeds throughout the day, there is major packet loss (when playing games) but technically it is the speed that I pay for. Any time past about 4 or 5pm the speeds go down to less than 5mbps and nothing that requires internet is useable until the next day. Virgin Media needs to stop throttling speeds since they are adamant on their website that they do not! It is ABSOLTELY DISGRACEFUL AND IT'S BEEN GOING ON FOR OVER 6 MONTHS!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Been a Virgin Media customer since December 2009. Every so often the broadband becomes unstable but nothing has been as bad as the last 2 weeks. I was in a zoom meeting and my son was doing his home learning. We were both kicked out and the wifi disappeared from the list of available networks. I immediately tried to contact Virgin on 150 but was on hold for almost an hour after hearing a less than helpful automated message. I eventually got to speak to someone who asked me to unplug my router and plug it back in again after a few minutes. Didn't work. Tried to call back and couldn't get through. The Network eventually appeared in the list but i couldn't access any web addresses or log into my company's VPN. I've been without internet since and was told the "estimated" date and time of completion would be 28th January at 10:20am. I had internet from 8am that morning but 2 hours later, the internet had disappeared again. I've contacted customer services again and asked to leave, if the service i'm paying for isn't fixed by the end of the day. I was informed by the leavers team that the fix in the whole of my area will now be fixed by 3rd February. Unacceptable. Customers are working from home and home schooling their children. Any fix should be resolved as quickly as possible and we should be informed of any issues, rather than us having to spend most of our day on the phone to be told nothing useful. I received a letter a few weeks ago stating that my plan was increasing. If my service was faultless, i'd have no problem paying more for my plan.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Nottingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Customer service if you have a problem or every 6 months when they put your bill up is dreadful. You will be spending hours of your life on hold. Worst customer service of any of the providers I've been with.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    there is an obvious problem with my broadband and TV package which Virgin, after several conversations with them, are not prepared to resolve. They claim out of this world broadband speeds but in reality I find them quite slow for what I pay for the service (almost £60)
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cambridge
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Virgin Media customer service are non-existent. I spent over 10 hours across three days trying to contact customer service; their customer service line puts one on hold for 60+ minutes, and then disconnects if one has not yet reached an agent (which rarely occurs). When one does finally reach an agent, s/he has no authority to resolve problems; they only transfer to other agents. Agents then refuse to admit problems, and instead threaten customers with legal action for breach of contract when they assert that Virgin Media's services do not work as advertised. Prices change without notice, and customer service agents deny that there is any change even when presented with differing bills for the same service. Reaching any customer service agent at all required 19(!) posts on Virgin Media's Facebook page, in order to finally arrange a Webchat. Virgin Media are dishonest thieves whose have systems designed to waste so much customer time that the customer gives up and pays whatever they ask. One * for customer service is too much. AVOID.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cambridge
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I'm simply disgusted with the service. Before I had the 50mbps fibre but I was only getting about 8-9mbps and then I had to pay more to upgrade to the 10mbps package. They did nothing attheor end to try fix my service. Their get out jail card is based on you getting 'UP TO' 50mbps. Luckliy by street fibre optics were recently upgraded by the council so I do get more speed now. However, my router needs to be reset 2-3 times a day. I frequently lose connect and have to reboot the router. I have tried to contact Virgin, but it is virtually impossible. DO NOT SWITCH TO VIRGIN.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wakefield
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Virgin media is not fit for purpose. Broadband speed good when hard wired but wireless is intermittent. Customer service is non existent. TV service is a joke. The problems are endless and too may to go into here. We had an Engineers visit last year when the system was working, albeit intermittently. but when he left we had no service of anything for 8 days. The next engineer to visit said the first had damaged it. Told we would be compensated in June 2020. Still waiting. We were updated to 360 in December 2020. Nothing works consistently. Engineer visiting tomorrow but will be the last visit they make other than collecting their equipment when I go back to Sky. If your'e thinking of going to Virgin Media, DON'T, you will regret it.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Leamington Spa
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have been with virgin for a couple of years, goes without saying that I have been having problems with them from day one. After several visits from the engineers, it was ascertained that the problem was in the junction box, instead to add new connections they have patched everyone to the existing one not allowing enough speed to go through to all, hence the connection and the speeds keep dropping. Apparently, they know this as several neighbours have made a complaint but, instead of fixing the problem, they keep sending people out to see the internal connections which we know there are not the problem. The customer service team is horrendous, and when you want to raise a complaint and you ask what exactly is the engineer coming out to fix again, the supervisors hang up on you, very professional
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Crawley
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    No customer support for technical faults. Facing lot of intermittent connections from 1.5 months. Raised a compliant 2 times no response from these people. I do not suggest to go with these people. Very unresponsive. For virgin ref: compliant numbers are: C-1101213210 and C-150121924.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    surbiton
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Virgin Media have not kept their word with anything. Customer service is zero. Terrible. I was promised compensation for no TV or broadband for 6 days. They basically told me Tough! I eventually got £7 credit to my account. The fibre broadband keeps dropping out or just no service. Be careful when you sign up. They are very helpful at the start. then it all goes downhill! Now they want to put price up by £3.50 Absolutely disgraceful
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Lincolnshire
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    Comments
    Cancellation nightmare - after seeing great offer for VM broadband i decided to switch, then it began! Hub received promptly (best part of the service) but couldnt get it connected so started the tedious time waste of trying to get to talk to anyone over phone or their cs text service for 2 days,who might help. Next day determined to now cancel this altogether finally got someone after over hours wait and politely asked them to cancel, but guy on phone obviously drilled on trying to keep you, i said over and over again that i had changed my mind and just want to return hub but he waant having any of it, and after confirming my details the call went dead.. i presumed this had been cancelled but then started getting emails and texts welcoming me to VM and and comfirming i am now connected! I replied to every message saying i am not commected and have canceĺled the switch but this has just continued for a week with my texting and leaving messages to them saying i am not with VM and have cancelled. But, when approaching another provider have been told cannot switch to them as am with VM and they have to cancel something on their system before i can go elsewhere. More phone caĺls not answered. Only 1 of their cs text team seemed to have any idea what was happening but umfortumately told me she was unable to resolve it...but did say my accoumt at that time had not been canceĺled and was active. To cut a long story short i have stayed with my current provided who have now offered me a great deal and having explained the issues i hipe have managed to cancel everything, but incase they havnt (as not yet have had any comfirmatiom of cancellatiom from VM) i have made sure no money can be taken by them from my account.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    CROOKS!!AVOID! Broadband speeds and reliability are ok, but if you decide to cancel their service after your contract with them expires is a complete nightmare. First, once you select "If you are thinking of leaving us" option on the phone, they put you on a queue, I've waited for up to an hour on occasions and the line randomly hangs up while you are in the queue. If you are lucky enough to get to a customer service representative, they'll try and give you a crap new deal, if you refuse, they'll "transfer" you to a colleague and then the big old wait is on and it will randomly hang up again. I've wasted 3 days trying to cancel my service with Virgin and still haven't...
    Oh, and once they kick you out of the waiting queue, you can't call again for a few hours, they put you in a ban list or something, complete CROOKS!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    GUILDFORD
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The Virgin internet fibre/cable speeds in Guildford are appalling with 60Mbps max download speed (200 advertised by Virgin) and we get frequent outages. Virgin hiked the cost of their cheapest available phone/TV/internet bundle to £74 in a renewed contract in Jan 2021 previously £55. My partner gave up a complaining phone call after 70 minutes and used their website complaint system instead but has not had any reply weeks later . Today (21/01/2021) we got a Virgin letter saying the cost is going up by £4.00 from March , but we still don't know what we are actually paying yet until the first bill comes in.

    Is there a true fibreoptic broadband provider in the UK? Can anyone recommend a better internet provider? What are individual experiences of changing from Virgin to another provider?
  • Reviewer
    Location
    West Midlands
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    DON'T BE TEMPTED BY THE INITIAL OFFER!
    I have been with Virgin Media for around 7 years at 3 different properties.
    When I moved from my 1st to 2nd property I had no issues and the transfer was smooth but it all went down hill from there with them trying to hike prices at least twice a year mid contract. Every time I had to phone to contest taking 2 or 3 phone calls of anything up to an hour. When me and my partner separated I could not move my account with me and had to set up a new one at my new address. Virgin messed up all the passwords so I could not access either account for nearly 3 weeks with multiple phone calls. Had to do a transfer of contract responsibility to my ex so she could take over the bill but they couldn't even get that right after 5 attempts via phone and post. Got that frustrated I just cancelled the account and she had to open a new one in her name. Messed up my passwords and email again and they tried to close both accounts saying that I owed them and early exit fee.
    Once I got all of this sorted towards the end of my contract an offer came up online on my personal account where I could add the TV and faster broadband to my package for a total of £37 a month. Should have known better than to try and upgrade!
    Received email confirmation of price and package details direct from Virgin Media and my new TiVo box arrived later that week. Set it all up and within a week got my first bill which was over £22 more a month than quoted. Here we go again! 42 minute phone call with no result and the promise of a call back from a manager the next day. No call back. Another 47 minute call where I emailed the proof of the price while they were still on the line to the email address they were spelling out for me, only to be told they couldn't access that email and a manager would call me back in 24 hours. Nobody called me back. Another 75 minute phone call speaking to 4 different people and they finally reduced it to.......£37.50 and I was told this was the closest they could get the package. These phone calls were the ones when I actually spoke to somebody after multiple times of being on hold for 20 to 30 minutes and then them hanging up.
    After taking a tv package I realised how little there was to watch on Virgin as you have to pay for the larger bundles if you want any of the sky channels and a large percentage of what is available on Freeview for nothing.
    This contract ended on the 28th of December so Virgin decided they now want to charge me £59 a month for the privilege of rubbish tv, a landline I have never used and averagely performing broadband. A few days later an email also informs me they are putting their prices up a further £3.50 as well!
    I phoned them thinking I will be able to haggle and get a cheap deal as usual but not this time. The cheapest they would do broadband on its own was £37 while new customers were getting it at £28 so I have cancelled finally.
    Oh and if you are late paying your bill they will phone you 2 or 3 times a day without fail until its paid but you cant contact them most of the time if you have a problem.
    If you have got to the bottom of this review I strongly urge you not to give Virgin Media your custom as they are rip off merchants of the highest order and their customer service is non-existent.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    east london
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    £28 per month for the basic package (after I threatened to switch) but reliability is terrible. It goes from 110 MBps to just 17 and I often get kicked off the internet completely. Makes zoom meetings impossible to host and I can't see how I can easily discuss it with Virgin. Ive complained but they tell me its my fault.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reading
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    What a truly terrible experience. 1 star is FAR too generous. Their help lines keep you waiting ages, you keep being passed to another department (and having to queue again), they say they will email and don't, they don't have an email address anywhere that you can write to, they have no online chat capability, if you have been talking for someone for more than a couple of minutes they end the call and leaving them is made extra difficult.

    PLEASE PLEASE save yourself an appalling experience and use any other provider. You have been warned - because you will regret.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Terrible broadband service with frequent outages and absolutely appalling customer service - rude, couldn't-care-less attitude. Her colleague earlier was unknowledgeable - couldn't even find my contract initially and then refused to honour it! I locked in for 12 months for a fixed price last July but this has been totally ripped up unless I sign up for another 18 months! Not likely! Would not recommend this company with a barge pole.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Gateshead
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I have been with virgin fibre broadband for over 3 years, I have the M200 broadband package which claims to have an average download speed of 213 mbs, I have tested this multiple times throughout those 3 years and the highest I ever got was 50 mbps and a 10 mbps upload speed and this was on a lan connection, the wifi was more in the region of 35 mbps. I pay £50 a month for this and they have just told me they are increasing the price by £3.50. They should be refunding for the speeds I am paying for and never getting. I only stay with them because other suppliers do not have fibre in my area and offer only 10 mbps download speeds. As soon as they do offer fibre, I am leaving. It is disgraceful they are allowed to falsely claim you can expect those download speeds. The truth is you will get no where near them. Absolute con. Fibre broadband is much cheaper with other providers and they don't claim download speeds that are way way above what you actually get.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheetham Manchester
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    absolute joke, after waiting for almost an hour I get through, I complain about the recent email announcing that an increase is on the way (£3.50)..my package consisted of just TV landline and Broadband and i was paying around the £50 per month mark.The woman at the end of the phone up helled the price rise stating that VM was due to put the price up last year but due to the covid 19 they held back (how saintly) i raised the point that what the difference now from then ie we still have covid and are in full lockdown and in a worse place financially than last year.She replied that its because of the govmt they tell VM to increase the price, (thinking i must sound stupid on the phone )I said that the Gvmt would NEVER tell a company to increase their prices and enlightened her about free enterprise and how the Gvmt actually encourage competition that's why you have the monopolies commission etc, she then said 'its the VAT ..the tax when they put it up'thats what it is (there is a bit of Dunning- Krugar syndrome going on with this woman )I said tax/ VAT are at 20 per cent ,they haven't been changed and if they do it will be announced in April normally , not March ,unless you are psychic. I ask for a cheaper price , she trys to give me a slight discount but its a sneeky one as it wont last as long as the whole contract , just 6 months , I ask to take away the TV cha that i don't watch and the landline that i don't use , she says her screen has grayed out on that box , she cant help me , but will transfer me to someone else .half hour later i speak to an asian man who takes me through all the sec procedures again , i tell him my problem i he starts to speak fast and on hands free i can only make out the odd word, another transfer, another wait, another taken through security, i say b4 i talk do u have the authority to do what i ask , he says what is it , i tell him give me a price without tv and phone , he quotes me £40. i said is that for 100 mps he said yes , i then asked for 60mps he quoted £34 permonth , i said looking at that its dear to other companies, I said i give you 1months notice ..after looking around and being 60 and all the different routers and cables become confusing so i bottled out. I ring up VM again to reverse the cancellation, i get through after 30 mins to a young asian woman who asked me my name , address and postcode , i had to spell out my name then she asks postcode and house number and turns round and says that my name does not match up with that address, so we go through the landline tel number and i get put on hold for 10 mins, she comes back and says how can i help , i say do you have my details now on screen she says yes and then we go through security procedure ...again!..i tell her my story and ask her what s the best deal for the old package i had but with slower Broadband , she says she cant downgrade any package and puts me through to another agent , 30 mins later i speak to another agent and i say to her is she the right person to do the biz, so i don't waste time , she says she is and i ask her to look at my bundle and if she can do anything as i might reconsider leaving(at this point I'm scheduled for termination 8th feb)she says she can bring it down a little more , and after that being squeezed out of her i then asked for the price if my speed was reduced to 60 mps, she relied (wait for it!!) that due to how the bundles are packaged ,it will be more expensive ????. i said then by your reckoning and logic if i upgrade my package one by adding things on , my monthly payments should reduced, is that correct i asked? she replied i know what your implying and how it sounds ,but it just is ,..I think its a wall to keep the price high. i asked is that the very best she could do and she said yes , so i said okay we will roll with that....i then hang up the landline phone from her and as i do my mobile rang, i then here the dulcet tones of a mature peoples person old school saleman on the mobile , telling me how sorry VM that I'm leaving , he tell s me I'm a VIP and the length of time i v been with them how wud i like to have my TV channels ..+ 2 others thrown in , your landline ...and 100 mps broadband for just £29 per month.. isaid yes please , i asked about his authority and he informed me that he is higher up the ladder then Cust Serv by quite a few rungs , so i say so therefore you have the ability to overule any decision by cust serv and any deal they make you can trump it,,is that correct ? he assures me , i said okay that's fine send me an email with the new revised contract...so the next day i get an email from VM and its the contract for £44.30 permonth not £29.00.. so because he used a VM mobile i sent a message to him saying i haven't seen your email yet is everything ok, i didn't get an answer..most likely wont do. but i cant pay £44 to them now after having a deal for £29... so i will have to cancel the contract again and do it in writing to head office .. recorded del!!(not falling for that one ) as i have 14 days cool off period. in the letter i mention my disappointment on not honouring the deal the offered me ..anyway if i don't hear from them then i have to let things take their course and find i new provider
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Watford
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Virgin media do not deliver the service that I pay for (108Mb); I achieve half or even less than that. Speeds averaging 39.7 over the past 7 days. Currently monitoring broadband speed.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Devon
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Rang yesterday phone answered after an hour then transferred to accounts where I held on for another 30 mins before being cut of. I have filled out a complaints form and the biggest laugh is they confirmed receipt of my complaint and say they will get back to me within 28 DAYS, disgraceful. We are leaving after many years , not that they will be bothered.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Shoreham-by-Sea
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Have never got anywhere near the 100 MPs I'm paying for:-currently 12 to 17Mps download,i.e.only about twice what an old dial up phone line would give. Frequent total failure of internet causing warning messages from my security cameras to be sent that they're offline. Slow speeds also mean Zoom meetings almost unusable at times due to screen freeze and loss of audio. Useless is too mild a term to use about them.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    HUNTINGDON
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Disgusted. Left them today after 22 years since the good old days of NTL. 2 hours and 20 minutes on the fone trying to get a better deal as they were going to up my bill by £10 a month, just like that! 3 'customer care' staff asked all my details again and again so in the end I quit. I'll give one of the smaller company's a go. Their advertised internet speed is a total fabrication. I paid for 100 mbps but was lucky to get 23! Bye-bye virgin, you should be ashamed of yourselves. Avoid them!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    woodgreen
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Terrible! the worst customer service that's if you get any! misleading information! expensive! inaccurate! unprofessional! terrible! no one will answer your call or reply to your complaint.. just dont bother with this comany
  • Reviewer
    Location
    TW3 Whitton
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Pathetic, appalling and poor service. Didn't realize i have been with them for almost a decade. I pay £61 a month for my package (mixed TV, 200 MBPS Broadband and Weekend calls on Phone). We don't use landline at all and TV is a rare scene but mostly the internet. They have promised 200 MBPS but in reality I don't even get 40 MBPS. What a shame. The internet connection is poor, intermittent. I have made numerous call to customer services but complete waste of time and the service is not worth the price you pay. They treat existing customers like milking cows knowing they are trapped in the contract. All discounted offers are for new customers again like anything other company but comparatively the service is completely degraded with no respect for customers.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    stockport
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    ABSOLUTELY crap service..
    ABSOLUTELY crap service... you cant get intouch with anyone.. the website takes you round in circles.. for obvious reasons.. to put you off... then at least 30mins to 3 hours waiting on hold... yet when you get through they tell you its not like that there systems say approx wait time is 18mins.. in what world?.. its a shame I'm about to cancel my package due to recent cost increase.. oh yeah all you get told when trying to get a new/better deal is "NEW CUSTOMERS ONLY" well after being with cable & wireless then NTL world and now virgin I'm about to leave after approx 25 year's. as a business if new customers are all your interested in god help you... have you seen the reviews you have? Mr Branson I think you need to take note and do something... sooo not a happy customer
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bangor
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      2 stars
    Comments
    I bought virgin 200 and occasionally that speed happens. For a short while. On a daily basis there are times when we have no internet. I continually check the speed and the average is about 20 mobs though many times only in single figures. At times our tv has to buffer, and also on important zoom calls. Many months ago I held on for ages to speak to someone who said a new router would fix all which I doubted, and after reinstall and changing all internet passwords around the house (Alexa etc) it made no difference at all. I gave up holding on and on many times. Eventually wrote to the CEO in Sunderland but 'he was on holiday' Beyond words awful. Actually stressful. Online info states restart router. That's an almost daily duty. Awful. Problem is no other high speed in our area as yet so still have to hang on though out of contract and paying a lot extra because of that, but I have champagne cooling for the day I can leave.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Relatively poor service.
    Went up massively in price. They offered me a discount when I complained and secretly locked me into a contract they didn't mention on the phone (although it was buried in the T&Cs). When I asked for call recordings they didn't send them. Surprise surprise.
    When I eventually finished the contract I can't cancel because they have no way to cancel on the site (although you can upgrade. Again, what a surprise) and I have spent hours on hold.
    They are about as cynical a company as is possible.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I wish I could give 0 stars but its not possible. Customer services are inexistent, internet is only fast when it works, that's about 30% of the time, the other 70% its either down or it just keeps disconnecting over and over again. I'm paying 52£/ month for 350MB download and the average download speed is 60MB, again, when it is actually working. Trying to cancel my contract after 3 years of dealing with it and I'm currently on hold for 1 hour with no chance of someone actually picking up the phone. If you're thinking of switching to virgin media, just stop, don't do this to yourself. Judging by all the reviews I'm not the only one with this problem.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Liverpool
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Virgin used to be ok when I first joined but have got worse over time .Had a problem recently and after ringing numerous times and holding on for a life time just to speak to somebody not one person could answer my simple question .Every conversation reverted paying out more money for a result which I am not prepared to do .
    In the end and totally frustrated I wrote a letter regarding my complaint in order to try and get a response . That idea was even worse - 5 reply letters later from Virgin I am still trying to get an answer ,obviously nobody knows what other staff are doing and realise so many people are answering my 1 letter .If I wasn't so annoyed with the whole scenario I would find it funny but I am determined not to give up , its crazy . To add fuel to the fire I have heard the monthly charges are going up :Disgusting , time I said goodbye .Cant guarantee another company will be better but judging by reviews they care about customers !!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    london
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    I made the worst descison ever by leaving BT and trying to join virgin, they told me 100% my home is connected and no work is necceserry, 5 months later, im still waiting for "work to be done outside" for me to get connected, every time an engineer is due to come, it gets rebooked, with no contact to me, its been 5 months now, and they just streched it another 2 weeks, when you call them, its always in india and they can barely speak english, like robots reading a script, i dont need your apology, i need you to do something about your horrible serivces, they will lie to you and reassure you just so you dont leave, please if you are thinking about joining virgin, DONT
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Nottingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have been trying to get this company to fix my internet fir nearly a month. They keep fobbing me off with excuses as to why the service is not working and none seem reasonable for a company as large as this one.
    I use an app called nextdoor neighborhood or something like that. And it allows the community to stay in touch and commincate issues between us. It appears several people in my area suffer the same issues..
    I phone them to report things and just get through to people working from home with no ability to do anything. When you do get to speak to someone. You either get fibbed off or the phone line will go dead when put in hold to contact supervisors or engineers.
    I can not recommend anyone use this company at the moment, even though it is difficult in this country to find alternatives due to lack of general investment into our internet backbone from companies and governments alike
    Update 5/1/21
    Been back InTouch with this company today. Issues still not resolved and made to feel as if i am being blamed for issues i am suffering. And that during this pandemic i should make allowances for this and just out up with it.
    They also decided to increase my bill during this period and almost doubling the cost whilst supplying an inferior service.
    I would suggest to everyone to find a different supplier. We all need to start using yhe smaller services and let these big boys go bust or get close to it. They may start improving their systems. I am going from 200mg (intermittently) which is far more than needed to a 56mg connection with plusnet that is a permanent stream. Please all be aware you do not need huge download speeds. Most media apps only use 4mg maximum. 200 mg is meant for multiple use household where there are more than 10 people.
    Each person only need a maximum of 10mg unless gaming or downloading huge files.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I have signed up to 100mbps broadband but it struggles to meet 50mbps or a number of occasions and no customer service/follow up at all.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Newcastle-under-Lyme
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I have been with Virgin Media for sometime and have noticed a deterioration of customer service. Not only does their Broadband fluctuate wildly to what I’m paying for but their prices have been steadily increasing. I’m out of contract and thankful for it . For the past 6 weeks the TiVo box just keeps switching itself off or freezes the TV. I have made 3 call left online long enough to go for a 3 mile walk and still no answer. I have emailed 3 weeks ago and no answer. So I have written a letter to give my 30 day notice ( That was over a week ago)
    My advice ... Don’t run a business if you can’t back it up with good GOOD customer service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Truly awful.

    - They go down all the time yet never admit to it, yet see others on twitter, downdetector etc..

    - The speeds will never match their advertised speeds when used in practice. Downloading a game, a 4K movie, files etc. will never be at the speed they show.

    - It is clear they do some kind of packet insepection and management to deliver better service to certain things.

    - Gaming experience is the worst I have ever had, you will get low ping but latency spikes constantly with any increase of action. So jitter is terrible. Inconsistency is the worst as you can never adapt or know what kind of experience you'll get.

    - I have tried to contact their customer service many times and just get stuck in a loop. Completely non-existent.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Virgin Review

    Virgin media - possibly the single worst internet provider I have ever dealt with. Apologies, this is a long review, but I beg you read it.

    They installed fibre optic into our building, promised tenants superior service enticing a bunch of us to move away from our slower, but stable providers.

    After 2 months of problems, 17 customer service calls, and 5 engineers coming to the building, I've had enough.

    1) First, when they surveyed the building they failed to check the building wires properly. Whilst it is a new build, every apartment in the building is fitting with air filled cables. Apparently these are not fit for use with Virgin media equipment (I am not an electrician/network specialist - I am repeating what the last Virgin media senior engineer told me). For me this hasn't been a problem, testing the cable shows a good connection but for others in the building it has meant they've switched to Virgin and they are completely unable to connect (air filled cable twisted and shorting out the circuit).

    Had they of properly surveyed the building, they would have realised this.

    2) Secondly, whilst my connection is fine I was still running into significant downtime. The 4th engineer that came to the property reviewed the fibre centre in the risers of the building to discover that the Virgin Installation team had failed to plug the connections in properly. Meaning that whilst I had a connection, it was only to 1 out of the 4 available network centres. When that centre went down, the building was unable to fail over to any of the other 3 available.

    Amazing. Couldn't make this incompetence up.

    3) Even now when I am connected to all 4 network centres, Virgin has CONSTANT network issues. I have been without a stable connection for the whole of the Christmas period. I am writing this whilst hot-spotting from my mobile.

    4) When I am actually connected to the internet I am on the 200Mbps package with a guaranteed minimum of around 100Mbps - I'd be so lucky. In the 2 months i've been with these jokes, I have at the most 80Mbps but recently its been more like 20-30mbps. Whilst this is plenty for most people, my use case is somewhat unique, especially whilst working from home. My point is, don't bother paying a premium for Virgin thinking you'll get crazy speeds. You won't.

    .. Don't worry. My complaints don't stop here.

    5) I have called approximately 17 times since November 7th to explain the issues. Every time you call, don't expect to be on hold for anything less than 40 minutes before getting to speak with an agent. Certainly don't expect a resolution. After the 10th time I requested to speak with a manager. I've never once been put straight through - its always "we promise a call back". NOPE. I have been promised a call back by a manager 5 times and only on ONE occasion has that actually happened.

    6) I have asked them for an interim fix for whilst they try fix the network issues (of course, they are unable to tell me what the network issue is). I have suggested a WiFi dongle for when the service is down. NOPE.

    7) I've been charged £70 for the privilege of dealing with these clowns so far. Their customer service agents don't care about your issue. They don't want to help or find a resolution. They can't tell you what the issues are.

    I made the mistake of not looking on here before I went with Virgin. I cannot convey strongly enough how diabolical they are. I am currently collecting evidence to provide to the Ombudsman, speaking with the building management (that manage all the apartments blocks in my area - Paddington) to get Virgin removed from the building and prevent them from falsely advertising their services in all their buildings, and I am speaking with a friend at Hyper Optic hoping he will be able to help get them installed instead.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Epsom
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    It works when it works (mid-July to mid-Sept 2020 in my case), but falls over far too often. Only when you complain do they acknowledge "known issues" in your area (May-July and Sept 2020 onwards with the "fix" not expected until Feb 2021!!). Throughout these periods the online issues tool stated that there were no issues - useless and outright misleading. In Sept 2020 I naively upgraded from 100Mb (usually getting c90Mbs) to 200Mb, yet only saw speeds of over 100Mb on the single day that the upgrade happened. Thereafter, the speeds were actually worse and the downtimes increased. The online community of experts tries to help but have no real power to do so. And, of course, they try very hard to avoid actually speaking to you.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Absolutely terrible service. The Internet has been on and off all days for the last few months. I'm working remotely and have to work about 2 hours longer each day as my broadband connection is getting cut all the time. My managers at work are not happy. I missed a lot of important Zoom meetings. I will be ending the contract before the end date. I'm sure it states that the company is supposed to provide me with Internet which they're not doing.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I don’t know why on broadband they have to remove from broadband to give to service, virgin media absolutely horrible customer service, misleading and fishing agents and specially worse service. I’m surprised that no one to check on them. Which is unexpected service virginmedia and in the future I will never use virgin media
  • Reviewer
    Location
    St Albans
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    A summary of the issues I’ve had with Virgin Media.

    I am leaving this review to warn people of the issues I have had, but also in the hope that someone from Virgin will give me some actual explanation for why these issues are happening and when they might be fixed. I still hope to one day get the fast, reliable connection for which I am paying.

    - Extremely unreliable connection. During certain periods, my internet will simply temporarily stop working briefly and then reconnect again. This can go on for anything between a day and a week. The issue has been occurring irregularly for over 2 years and Virgin have offered absolutely no reason as to why, despite asking on numerous occasions. I am told there are “intermittent connection issues in your area” with no further info.
    - When searching for faults in my area, the website always shows no faults. However, when phoning (after countless messages urging me to use the website instead), a message does admit there’s a fault... with no ETA on resolution or explanation of what is happening.
    - When paying a bill online, sometimes after entering card details etc, the form will tell me that “something went wrong, please try again later”. On trying again, the same message will appear. On checking my bank statement, I find that I have been charged for BOTH of these supposedly failed transactions, each for over £100.
    - When trying to get a refund for the above, clearly a result of Virgin’s defective website, we are told no, “Virgin Media does not give refunds” using the online chat customer service function. When phoning the next day, a very helpful employee said that yes, I can absolutely have a refund. Why the inconsistency? If I had accepted the first answer, I would be down over £100 because of Virgin’s incompetence or downright dishonesty.
    - 10 days later, the bill is still showing as unpaid.
    - You simply can’t log in to the website on certain browsers. On chime, the sign in form just doesn’t work. The sign in button does nothing.
    - The website forces stupidly restrictive password rules, with a maximum length and limit on certain special characters, which actually WEAKEN passwords as well as make my usual variable password convention unusable.
    - Working from home during the pandemic has often been impossible thanks to connection unreliability.
    - I live-stream and Virgin is the only high-speed connection in my area, but during common random periods of unreliability, the very expensive internet package I have selected is absolutely useless and a total waste of a very significant bill relative to my income.
    - It is now Christmas and instead of meeting friends and family I have decided to live-stream with friends in order to adhere to COVID quarantine rules. Of course, now is one of the all too common days of non functional internet.
    - I don’t really ever ask/expect/fish for refunds, but considering the atrocious product and service I am paying for, it is disappointing that Virgin have never once offered any compensation for any of the faults I have experienced.

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.