BT Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for BT.

Recent Customer Ratings for BT

  • Satisfaction
    3.2 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.2 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3.2 stars

Based on 2840 customer ratings since 2021-08-16 (Show all time ratings)

Visit BT   Read our BT buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

3,298 Customer Reviews over 83 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Dorking
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Comments
    So 4th of march came and everything went down, internet and broadband. Spoken to BT several times and they keep saying it will be fixed in a few days or a week, almost a month later and what have they done? Nothing, keep getting guesses. For a service we pay for this company is absolutely terribly at resolving issues. Luckily we can cope without a landline as we use our mobiles however what if this is happening to an elderly couple? What if they have an emergency? All I can say is I am already pursuing other options to look at other providers as Bt had said 3 weeks ago that they were fixing the fault.. Until I spoke to someone a few days ago and they disclosed that they 1 have only just found the fault 2 need to get out to see what needs to be repaired and have only just ordered the cable.

    Now you may ask, is it just my property? The answer is No. Aparently it is quite alot of people affected including a school. So well done BT for the urgency in this matter. They seriously need to re-think the customer service and engineering side. If it takes almost a month to resolve an issue like this then where are there priorities as I can assure you by the look of how this problem is being treated it is not there customers who are coming first.

    I suggest if you are looking to join BT, then put them down the bottom of your list and look at Virgin or another provider who will most likely get things done and not make excuses.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Midlands
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Customer service is abysmal. They signed me up for packages that I did not request THREE SEPARATE TIMES in twelve months. Contacting them is a nightmare so I presume they think most people will give up and accept the unasked-for charges. Their support staff seem to not care one jot. A deceitful firm in my experience.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ilford Essex
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Dont bother with infinity, the service is awful, the line drops all the time. In 6 months I have called the tech team over 30 times, had more than 10 engineers who fix the so called problem and 48 hours later the same problems occur. Slow wifi, dropped connection or no connection. Customer service is non existent, impossible to end contract even when service is no good. Please, i beg you, go with Virgin
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely useless and unprofessional company.

    I was moving into a property and needed broadband working as soon as possible due to work requirements, so I called over two weeks in advance to make sure everything would be set up in time.

    Received a call from a bored sounding women two days AFTER the date I'd been assured to tell me the service would be ready in another ten days. When I tried to complain I got cut off.

    Called back, got through to a bloke who obviously did not care in the slightest, and was informed my service was delayed because the previous tenant told them they couldn't stop the service yet. Why the previous tenant had a say on my service I still do not know.

    Asked for broadband to be turned on the same day as the phone line, was told it's not possible. I work in networking, it's definitely possible and only takes a couple of minutes to do.

    Said I would like to cancel my order due to the poor service and received a happy "ok". No apology for bad service, no compromise on delivery times to get me to stay, nothing.

    Shockingly bad customer service from start to finish, false information provided, no form of reparation or compromise offered, all-round unpleasant to deal with.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Devon
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Would like to comment on reliability and speed but have been waiting over 6 weeks for them to even get a phone line connected. Hope their broadband is quicker than their engineers. Getting through to customer services is a nightmare, kept on hold for ages before being answered, obviously on my mobile phone. Rubbish service!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ashton Hayes
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Beware of BT. I live on my own and I have had no phone now for over two weeks. They text you with an appointment and then they do not turn up. The staff do not tell the truth to customers. My health has been affected by the way they have dealt with me. Sadly I have lost my mother unexpectedly and she was on a 24hour care system whilst I worked full time so that I knew she could get help if she needed it . Yes they will leave people without contact before they will fix the problem. Terrible firm to deal with even if you pay your bills by direct debit. Papers here I come with my story.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    North Dorset
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Originally swapped from a poor broadband service provided by Orange which was unreliable and slow. BT offered a 'professional service' with the home hub 3 which professed to not disconnect at every opportunity, sorry to say we are lucky to get 15 minutes of uninterrupted broadband over the day. Technical assistance from BT's 'technical' department MIGHT be good if English wasn't their second language, infuriating at best and equal to our previous unreliable and slow Orange service.
    As a note the free BT sport isn't supported on our smart TV so had to pay to view the so called free package only to view Moto GP, if you're a sad viewer of overpaid footballers you'll be in your element, boring football and more football, another poor service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Adlington
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Horrendous"service". No broadband for 2 weeks. Constant phone calls to try and get it sorted. Promises of "some one will call you back". Believe me - that never happens. Been on now for 3 days and told Im going to exceed my allowance. Worst decision I ever made to move to BT. DON'T BE TEMPTED. JUST DON'T DO IT!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Co Armagh
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    BT ARE THE WORST COMPANY I HAVE EVER CAME ACROSS, They are robbers and don't care , I was sent a bill for one months rent of £98 pound within 3 days I got a reminder with a different quote this time for £158 pound, which I paid straight away without question, which I should not have paid, why was this amount put on top, ringing is no good to these people as its run by talking machines, well my contract is up 1st july and I can not wait, and I wont be paying another penny either, £158 pound for broadband and 19 calls on my phone, shocking, if everyone just didn't take their crap and left, they wouldn't be able to RIP people off, only indian call centers and no disrespect but if you are a bit deaf like me sometimes its hard to take in all they are saying ,I will NEVER in my life EVER be a customer of bt again one greedy rubbish company I am just sorry I paid £158 pound yest, after they got payment they restricted my broadband for almost 48 hours, my daughter had to ring several times and almost beg to get it turned back on again goodbye BT,good riddance robbing pensioners of all the money they have 19 calls and broadband £158 for I month.....
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Oldbury
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    BT Broadband is amazingly bad. I used to be with Sky and never had any issues with my broadband, I wish I never changed. I can't stay connected to my broadband for longer than an hour at a time without it cutting out, the diagnostic tool is just there to waste your time asking you stupid questions and not resolving anything and the customer service is just dire. Each time I've complained they just send me another HUB, blaming the problem on that but it still persists. I've never been so frustrated, I'm stuck in a contract with them but as soon as it ends I will be going straight back to Sky. Please don't get your broadband from BT unless you want to be paying for something you will only receive temporarily.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Southampton
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Setup was a nightmare. Utterly horrid. I have never been so stressed before in my life. Despite giving all advanced warning installation only started 2 days after at which point we were informed (after being on the phone for over 2 hours and being transferred to and from 3 different call centres), from the technical support suggesting that I go out and purchase an old fashioned telephone to test the line from my socket to their exchange.
    They couldn't make it any faster and it was totally stressful especially with my wife needing internet to study from home in the middle of moving house.
    We also had this idiotic broadband talk which was never properly explained to us and seemed to half work and which I asked to be turned off - with the lack of paper bills it was only recently that I noticed that this was *still* being charged for despite my request.
    However, speed is good. 18meg/20 consistently, occasionally connection cuts out requiring a hub restart which is a bit annoying. It's fine now, after setup, but the whole process reflects poorly on their customer service. My wife hates the random cut-outs and wants to switch to virgin but their customer support isn't much better.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Enfield
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    I thought my case was bad and made me angry. Having read most of the comments here, I was kind of the 'lucky' one. I am so far, happy enough with the technical side of the services. The area that I am not happy about is when contacting the customer services. There was no help in anyway, basically they just want to say "this is it, take it or leave it". As an existing customer for almost 30 years, I thought I was loyal, I have never asked for anything eg discount, I pay my bills on time every quarter all these years. But when I decided to upgrade our broadband to infinity 2 (not having it install yet) I will be paying more than a new "valuable" customer, no discounted few months offer etc. I was on the phone to BT to sort out some internet problems to start, and was decided to have it upgraded after a long chat with the engineer, I complaint about not being told of some of their offers which I could have had (this was when I realised afterwards) and I was told, as BT personnel, they do not need to tell customer, it is up to us to shop around....bla...bla...bla.

    I have been in touch with two officers, this is what they say in the end "if you are not happy, you can cancel your order"!

    Nightmare talking to them!

    But thanks for the comments, I will look at the bill more carefully.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheshire
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I signed up for broadband and calls just over a month ago when i was drawn to the attractive offer of half price broadband for 6 months. Not knowing what my usual usage would be i took the minimum package with 10GB usage per month at £5 per month and then £10 per month after 6 months. I went over the usage in my first month and have already exceeded this months usage. So it is clear to me that i am on the wrong package and should have taken out the unlimited package, also on offer at half price for 6 months. When i have tried to move to the correct package i have been told that i would then pay the full monthly costs of 16.99 and not receive any discount. the discount that persuaded me to join up in the first place. This is because i am not a new customer, even though i have only been a customer for just over a month! I feel I have been tempted into a good deal and then had that deal taken away from me straight away. I am not locked into a 18 month contract feeling disgruntled that i have been mislead. Why they couldn't just let me move to the unlimited package with the half price for 6 months offer i don't know?! It's total BS. I will not be continuing with there service after my contract has run out.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cambridge
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    I used to have Virgin Media (not my choice but landlords) and oh my god was that the worst. Not only is the speed god aweful but the reliability is a joke.
    Switched to BT and i've had fast internet with very little downtime. Best thing is there is no fair-use policy like you do with virgin so I don't get throttled when I need to download something from steam.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Isle of skye
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    Comments
    I was with talk talk for the last few years. Recently my broadband speeds were down to 0.5 in the evenings making watching youtube or anything impossible. I spent hours on the phone to their help line and had an engineer out who said there was no problem with the line.
    I decided to move to bt although the reviews online made me wary. I had good reports from friends who are using bt broadband. I took the plunge and ordered bt unlimited broadband with evening and weekend calls. I received my hub 2 days before connection date. And on the day of connection I was struggling on with my old talk talk connection at a speed of 1.5 and received a text from bt to say my bt broadband was ready to use. I unplugged my old router and plugged in my new bt hub. Took just a couple of minutes including taking it out of the box. The router took a couple of minuted untill the light turned solid blue and typed in the wireless key and password into my ipad and was online. Less than 5 minutes and it was surfing at a speed of 6.5 I have only had it for a week but the speed has remained above 5 in the evenings and during the day. So far very happy but I will write another review if there are any problems at a later date. I still think that getting reviews from friends and neighbours in the local area is far better than online reviews.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    shams
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I joined BT on 14/02/14, I have broadband but no land line, over 4 days I am having a hellish time, it is absolute torture, customer service is an incompetent one and have no clue and gives no help whatsoever.
    do not join, do not join BT you will regret.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Surrey
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Shocked by BT's customer service/tactics when it came to leaving. First BT operator said they would send out MAC code in post and should arrive 5-10 days. After 2 weeks called again and I was assured MAC code was in the post. Called again after a further week and third operator left me on hold for 18mins only to tell me they would call me back - they never did. Called again to be told that MAC code could in fact be given out over the phone - not impressed. BT = expensive + dreadful customer service. Hopefully EE will be better - they are certainly more price competitive.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Uk London
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I renewed contract with bt and as the old router was providing never-ending disconnection problem, they sent a new router but the new router was even worse than the old one that the Internet gets disconnected every five secs. I called bt and the tech guys have been doing never ending testing but would never call me back. I had to call back every single time, they promised to call back for four times but never happened. After never ending arguing with hopeless customer option team as well as tech guys for entire three days, I ended up going barking mad at them, and they finally proposed to send a new router. They are just absolutely irresponsible, useless and hopeless in helping or sorting problems out!!!!!!!!! Just can't wait till the contract ends. And no wonder why people complain so much about bt.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Argyll
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Reviewing this simply due to the fact of how shocking BT's Broadband is. For the last year the Broadband in our area has been disconnected every second night without fail during peak times for around 1-2 hours, on top of this when it is actually running you are lucky to get any decent usable connection, when streaming video's you are consistently directed to 140P, even on this you still run into buffer problems, whilst contacting customer services about the situation BT essentially said there is nothing they can do until Fibre is installed, even then I doubt their speed will be all that great. Would highly recommend not going with BT for Broadband.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Mytchett
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    WOW.
    What an awful company.
    I switched over from Sky Broadband last May, as the current infrastructure only offered me up to 2Mbps, in reality it was only 0.7Mbps.
    BT had a fibre backbone, so could offer much higher speeds. I clocked it at around 79Mbps.
    After 2 missed appointments, and 2 days off work on my part, I finally had it installed. As a goodwill gesture for wasting my time, the guy on the phone offered me my first 3 months free, which I agreed was acceptable.
    After 3 months I got a huge bill for around £190. So I called their ridiculous phone system, and on the 3rd or 4th try managed to speak to someone. They denied all knowledge of this promise of 3 months free, and I urged them to listen back to the phone call as I would like the goodwill gesture that I was offered. They said they would listen to the call, and call me back within 7 working days. 7 days passed, no phone call. I called again (through THAT phone system) and asked why I hadn't received a call. No knowledge of the request. Great. Apologies, blah blah, they will call me back within 48 hours. No call. Getting angry now.
    After a few calls on different days, trying to get somewhere, I gave up hope. Very angry at this point.
    So I had a moment of madness and decided to email Mr Ian Livingston.
    He replied back within about 20mins saying he was very sorry and would pass my details onto a 'top level customer service manager' - sounded promising.
    Sure enough, the next day I had a call from a lovely lady. She said she was sorry I've had such a bad start with BT, and that she didn't need to listen to the original call. She will refund all the charges so far, including the late payment fees (I refused to pay a penny until it was resolved).
    So, as of 1st October 2013, I was about £4 in credit.
    Wonderful result!!
    Alas, it has gone downhill from there.
    My standard month bill is £44.45, Infinity 2 + line rental.
    I don't have a phone connected to the phone line, and BT Infinity 2 is unlimited - so I know what my bill will be each and every month.
    Unfortunately the BT computer system doesn't see it this way.
    I had a letter saying "You are using more than you should, so we are increasing your monthly payment to £70 to cover this".
    I was furious.
    Every month I call them, speak to managers, other staff, explain the whole story time and time again. I have been on the phone for 2hrs more than once and not got anywhere.
    They have taken a total of £350 over the last 5 months (5 x £70), instead of £207.25 (5 x £41.45).
    So I figured they owe me £142.75. They refute this.

    Another thing is they generate a quarterly bill, which I wasn't told when I entered into a contract. I am also on what they call 'Monthly Billing' as opposed to a standard Direct Debit, all because I wanted the DD to exit my my account on a specific date. This practice is standard in the 'Utilities Industry', apparently. Which is funny because I don't have this problem with my gas and electricity providers.
    By having a 'Monthly Plan' (they tell me) that the amount can be adjusted by them each month as they see fit. BS.

    All I wanted was a bill each month for my usage. Whether that's in advance or not, I don't really care, because I KNOW what that bill will be because I CAN'T go over my allowances due to it being unlimited and not having a phone connected.

    I had my final call about a week ago, and after 2 hrs I asked to speak to the cancellation department. After another lengthy hold, and explaining the whole story AGAIN, the adviser said I couldn't cancel as there was an outstanding debt on the account and I need to speak to billing first. I was furious.
    An outstanding balance?? When I am owed over £140??? I couldn't believe it.
    Again I was put on hold, back to billing. On hold waiting for a manager... Explain the whole story YET AGAIN... Either he hangs up or we get cut off.

    .........

    Speechless.

    So, I'm still at odds as to what to do.
    No matter how many times I speak to them, or who I speak to, I never seem to get anywhere.
    Heaven knows how much time and money I have spent calling them from my mobile.

    To add insult to injury, Sky released their own fibre service about 2 months into my BT contract.

    On another note, 3 weeks ago some nice person decided to crash their car into the green BT node at the end of the street, severing internet and phone connections to my whole street. This is not BT's fault I know, but it took around 2 weeks to fix, with no email or phone call to apologise. I called them to ask why I very rarely saw an Openreach engineer at the crash site. They said they would look into it...

    Internet is back now, so I'm expecting a refund for the 2 weeks I had no Infinity 2. What do you think my chances are?
  • Reviewer
    Location
    central london
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    15 months without a phone line and without broadband, and BT are sending debt collectors to take £600 off me for a service they haven't provided! This is with the ombudsman now and also registered at ofcom.On the 31st October 2012 I contacted BT and informed them that I would be moving house on the 1st November 2012 and asked for my phone line and internet to be moved as well. The lady seemed intent on selling me the infinity package and I accepted to upgrade to this.

    It took you over 6 months for BT to arrange to connect the broadband. I made over 40 phone calls to BT chasing this and all the while from October 2012 - May 2013 they continued to bill me for the phone line in my OLD residence despite not having connected my phone and not providing me an internet service in my new residence where I was now living.

    I made several formal complaints to BT, the first being in March 2013 having waited 4 months for a phone line connection but they were all ignored.

    Thorughout December 2012 - April 2013 they were unable to arrange a visit to connect the lines - they gave dozens of excuses for the delay, including a claim that I was in a remote area! (i am in central London). Each time I rang I had to explain everything all over again and then they would say they would call back but they never did. I wrote to them but never received a response.

    They then left me a voicemail while I was abroad telling me they were going to attend in May to connect my line. I was abroad at the time, so did not pick up their message and was clearly not here in London to let in their engineer. They made no effort to agree the time of the attendance with me first.

    At various times BT said they were going to waive the first 2 months or 3 months line rental for the massive inconvenience caused but none of their subsequent bills reflected that.

    The phone line and infinity connection was supposed to be as a package of £80 where the phone line connection charge is included but instead they charged me for both separately coming to a total of £130.

    BT continued to charge me for a line rental from 31st October 2012 until 25th May 2013 despite not offering any services whatsoever.

    They charged me for phone calls made on my old line after I moved out of my last property on 5th November (£130.59 and £26.88) by the new tenants that had moved in and they did not disconnect the phone line in my old property despite a written order form saying they would.

    I made several formal complaints to BT but they did not respond to any of them. (they never do apparently)

    I then made a complaint to the ombudsman and in response to this BT refused to speak with me at all about my service and disconnected my broadband altogether and charged me a disconnection fee!

    A preliminary investigation by the ombudsman asked for BT to pay me £100, a full refund of the excess charged by BT and a formal apology but their bill does not reflect any of this. BT have still not paid a refund. This whole saga has cost me a fortune (60 phone calls to BT from my mobile on their premium line in order to chase up the absent services that they had agreed). I have been obliged to use my mobile phone for international and other calls and this has added several £100s to my expenses over 15 months.

    BT did not answer any of my letters or emails and did not respond to 2 more formal complaints submitted by post and by email.

    However, they did react to my complaints to the ombudsman by then piling on a late service charge of £7.50, then £2.00 and then proceeded without warning to disconnect my broadband.

    BT then added a further disconnection charge.

    BT then proceeded to add more and more to the bills despite still not providing a service.

    Now I have received a letter from a debt collection agency and from BT to inform me that they have added a further 25% to what BT were billing me previously for 'late payment'.

    I would warn all of you out there to avoid this draining and time wasting nightmare. BT is an awful company.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Crawley
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Comments
    Awful in everyway. They've made 3 appointments and haven't bothered to turn up to any. Didn't ring to apologise. Want to make a fourth but refuse to guarantee attendance, they refuse to give exact time so I'm to wait in again from. 1- 6 pm. In my naïveté I thought they'd be sorry about not turning up 3 times but no they actually believe it's their right to turn up at their convenience . I've no email, no Bt vision hones hit and miss. Only constant reliable fact is that my bill is paid in full on demand. What's the definition of theft? The chairman is not concerned his company are fleecing customers or he'd contact and apologise. I even tried placing an ad in the Times for his attention, I intended paying but they didn't ring back. There's no way of contacting this" communication" company. I'm told we've got. .24 of a gig I don't know anything about tech stuff but one of my son does . I phoned them been on hold for hours, been in conversation with them 2.5 hrs at a time . So fed up don't know where else to go to get satisfaction.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    So bad. I had a total sky package and wanted to save a few pounds so decided to go to BT but really really regret that decision. If you are ever in my position NEVER CHOOSE BT. Everything has been a disaster, broadband, TV and phone. It has been one problem after another. They can do nothing right and just lie down the phone to you. i have never had such a bad customer experience in my life.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wilton, near Pickering, North Yorkshire
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely dire, called broadband when I'm lucky if I get 150kb, 1 mile away they enjoy 35MB, BT wont go the mile to our village, pass you around the different centres. Cant wait for 4G to come, we all have mobile contracts with data packages, then BT will be gone. £41 a month they rip me off for, they state on the BT website l get 1-3.5MB, total lies, Rightmove web site speed test states 100kb, that's a realistic figure, THANKS FOR ABSOLUTELY NOTHING BT AND THANKS FOR THE LOST WORK AND THE NON EXISTANT TECHNICAL AND CUSTOMER SERVICE. YOU LIED TO ME AND AS YOU CANT GIVE WHAT YOU PROMISED 3 YEARS AGO, I THINK YOU MIS SOLD ME A PRODUCT, LIED AND THEREFORE SHOULD BE DONE FOR MIS SELLING BREACH OF CONTRACT.
    DON'T BOTHER WITH BT IS WHAT L THINK
  • Reviewer
    Location
    HENGOED
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    Comments
    BT USELESS

    Wish I had read all the reviews before ordering BT infinity package - completely disgusted with the customer service. Due to have an engineer on the 22nd of January, turned up but engineer was not qualified to enter attic space and left the property saying someone would come back to me in four days!! Rearranged another appointment for 29 the oh January, waited in all day, no engineer arrived. Rearranged for 30th of January and guess what - no engineer. Wasted three days leave and still no broadband. customer services will lie to you just to get you off the phone. Open reach are next to useless and Kelly Communications send unqualified engineers and you still have to wait 24 hours for a call-back from a trouble-shooting team who will no doubt make promises they can't keep.

    DO NOT CHANGE YOUR BROADBAND to BT INFINITY
  • Reviewer
    Location
    dy6 9sz
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Don't bother worst company I have ever dealed with I have cancelled after numerous calls to get no were
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Streatham Hill
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely dreadful service DO NOT USE BT. Four times I have been told the fault would be sorted that day and 4 times they have failed to do so and failed to contact me saying there's an issue. Every conversation I have had with them they have assured me it will definitley be done that day and said the issue was at the exhange. I then called today as the fault is still not fixed and was informed that an engineer came to the flat, three days ago; engineer didn't even borther phoning when he couldn't get in. Having not been told soemone was coming I wasn't in. Two days ago I spoke to BT and no reference was made to the engineer turning up the day before and again they assured me it would be sorted within 24 hours. They are now saying thay have to wait three days to update the order (6 days from when the engineer came round)before they even consider dates for a new appointment. Again DO NOT USE BT
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Louth, Lincs
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I have just sent the following to the BBC: Well, it's 2014, I have high-speed broadband, and I can't listen to The Archers on iPlayer because it cuts out every few seconds, sometimes coming up with the 'insufficient bandwith' message. This is for radio, not TV! I'm sending the same email to BT. No doubt you'll both blame each other. Either way, it's a disgrace in this day and age.
    Livid of Louth. So now I leave it to you guys - who's going to take the blame, the Beeb or BT? I'm told I have 40meg download speed, and yet I can't stream a radio programme...???
  • Reviewer
    Location
    london
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    Comments
    If you're with Virgin at the moment and tempted to switch to BT because Virgin don't give loyalty points to long time customers, pls don't. You'll end up wishing you're still with Virgin. Internet's so slow, programs don't appear on its TV guide. Can't wait for my contract to end.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Somerset
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    In a world where Broadband and telephones are just about essential BT cannot allocate an engineer to fix a fault IN THEIR TELEPHONE EXCHANGE in less than a week. We have no useable telephone and no broadband and the earliest they can fix it is January 28th. Perhaps if they took customer service seriously they'd reflect on this employ more engineers and maybe reduce the pay of executives by a small proportion to fund this - the outgoing chief, Ian Livingston, was paid £18.5 million (yes million) last year. An extra engineer or several on £30K or so would hardly dent his pay.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Devon
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    BT are a deceitful bunch - I signed up to an 18 month contract with a fixed price of £16 per month. After just 3 months they increased the price from my direct debit. I queried this and was told they were entirely at liberty to do so. If you look at any of their current advertsing it all states fixed prices for the term fo the contract - and dont even try and look at their T&Cs - thousands of pages of them. Just dont ever trust them.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    BIRMINGHAM
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I ordered my broadband and telephone line on 2nd Jan and was given a date of 21st Jan for installation between 8am to 1pm.Took day of work especailly for this waited and waited until about 2pm an engineer phones as say that he can not fit the telephone toady because of some issues with my previous telephone.
    Phoned BT and the call centres are aboard the people working there dont have a clue on what customer service is.Had to re schedule the appointment which was given 10 days time.
    BT are the worst company for customer service.
    So i cancelled my package with them and i am looking else where.
    AVOID BT AT ALL COSTS THEY ARE A BUNCH OF TWATS!!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    stevenage
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I moved from Virgin thankfully to BT (I used to call virgin and ask them for permission to use broadband it was so bad). BT performance has been on the button, no stupid capping, price is lower, I gave 5 to customer service, I have not used them at all in 11 months. so BT have a thumbs up from me, I gave virgin hell they were so bad !!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    NI
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Wow I never knew how bad BT were until I tried to contact them. BT are a communications provider.....Right? So why is it impossible to communicate with them? I spent a full day from 9 am to 7.45 pm trying to speak to the options team, who are so named no doubt because it's their option whether they feel like picking up the phone!! I called wanting to discuss my increasing bill and to see if they could match a deal from Talk Talk and eventually someone picked up the phone. I explained that I was being offered the same broadband speed, unlimited, including anytime calls and TV for less than I was being charged by BT for broadband and evening and weekend calls. The response was that Talk Talk are terrible with nonsense reasons why I shouldn't go to them like they would cut me off if I used over £20 of calls! Really my phone provider would cut me off for using the phone? They said I could have a £5 reduction in my bill but they would take away my evening calls!!! Excuse me? Horrendous and they don't care about customers. They have lost this one permanently. Don't touch with a barge pole.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Just awful in every way. We switched from Virgin and have not stopped regretting it. broadband service was extremely patchy and slow for 4 or 5 months. When an engineer finally came after endless phone calls he told us the initial installation was poor and fixed it. Problems continued and we had a 2nd engineer's visit who told us the first engineer had messed things up. He seems to have done a good job and broadband is now ok but we've been charged £130 for the engineer's visit. I'm now on the phone trying to query it. 20 minutes to get through to the billing dept (in India) who told me another dept deals with payments for engineers' visits. Have now spent another 20 mins waiting to get through to them. The customer service is awful. Call centre has been outsourced and the assistants' grasp of English is not great. Avoid BT at all costs.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    worksop england
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    it is the worst internet connection ever it never loads anything and all it does it flash orange day and night. its alright until you try to search for something on your laptop or mobile and then it just messes up. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. it terrible.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Isle of Skye
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    We have a holiday home on the isle of Skye. We also have Bt broadband, as this was the only option at the time. We hardly use the Internet, just checking emails or web browsing. Usually use about 1GB a month as download speeds are woeful. So were surprised to get an email from BT yesterday to say we had used 10GB in 10 days, get this, when we were not at the property and the hub is turned off. Thought this would be easily resolved with a call to BT. 1.5 hours on the phone later they will not accept their usage monitor is faulty and want us to upgrade our package!!
    Do not touch BT with a barge pole. Customer service is hopeless! The call centre is in India which makes it even more difficult to get any sense out of them as it appears the poor folks on the help desk are reading a script.... Which they repeat like a mantra whatever you say.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Comments
    If I could give zero stars, I would for all the above. TERRIBLE customer service - calling up was a mustake, nobody knew who to transfer me to and there was no one person in charge. Was on the phone for a good 1.5 hours.
    And above all TERRIBLE service. Firstly, they ripped us off and installed normal Internet, not broadband as we paid for ( only knew this when they came to fix our internet the second time round) and then a week later they cancelled our internet for no reason and asked us to pay £200. After another week we found out the it was because somebody else from our building had cancelled it by mistake and not told us. After getting Internet back for a week, it has stopped working again. This is the WORST INTERNET PROVIDER I have used and will never use BT again.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    central London
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    So frustrating. Just opening the pages to write this review nearly made me lose the will. I haven't waited for pages to load like this for about 7 years. I can't stream anymore - is this a strategy to force you onto fibre optics?
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Lincs
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Comments
    Its a rip off. The usage figures are fake and they also classify usage as up AND downloads so in effect a 10gb product is only worth 5gb in reality. Which means you can ONLY USE IT for web browsing and emails NO VIDEO/iplayer/BT Sport nothing or you will go over the daily usage in a few hours. Which means big penalties. google BT usage scam and the net is rife with people being ripped off in this manner. Its shocking they are allowed to get away with it. Customer Service is non existant, or any thats makes sense. Keep well away from the crooks.

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.