BT Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for BT.

Recent Customer Ratings for BT

  • Satisfaction
    3.2 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.2 stars
  • Speed
    2.9 stars
  • Reliability
    3.1 stars

Based on 3463 customer ratings since 2021-05-19 (Show all time ratings)

Visit BT   Read our BT buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

3,276 Customer Reviews over 82 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Scotland
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    It is unbelievably slow, inconsistent and if you don't reset the router every 12 hours it doesn't work at all I have never been able to play my games without experiencing lag. Customer service is very poor sending you to someone who tells you to do what you've already tried and know doesn't work. Fix your connection problems,it isn't difficult
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Isle of Barra
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I have infinity two with unlimited calls. Great speeds. Only had a problem once which was due to a day when we had constant power cuts. Person on the phone was great and all it needed was a reset. My only complaint is the price at £71 a month while other providers are a lot cheaper. I have looked at their reviews and they are much the same as the bad reviews here and a lot of the complaints are about speeds dropping. Do I take a chance and go for the cheaper provider that’s y dilemma.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    BUCKINGHAM
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Abysmal. Over the three years I've been stuck with this cowboy outfit I have been plagued with problems. Slow speeds, constant disconnections, price rises mid-contract, engineers not bothering to turn up, a thousand and one, carbon-copy answers which solve nothing.

    Incentive gifts never turn up, mobile signal is the weakest I have ever experienced, the list goes on.

    It even took them a whole year to get my name right on the contract!

    I wish Virgin served my area by BT have the monopoly!

    Avoid at all costs!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Mk
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    Comments
    I cannot believe with every effort to pay the bill during this difficult time, you stopped my account even when I paid sat up a direct debit. Just for getting 7.5 plus charges to reopen the account? So horrible
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Burton on Trent
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely disgusted with the service I have received from BT for past year I have had a fault where the Broadband drops intermittently, called them out Engineers are not interested in getting the fault fixed just keep telling me its an internal fault, eventually they tracked the fault to being external and still having big issues they say its fixed week later same issues never interested take days to come out and by this time your business will be finished.

    You think I am joking please try BT
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Utterly abysmal! Constant disconections, never deliver incentive gifts. Took them a whole year to even get my name right on my account! Prices rise mid-contract, engineers don't turn up, a thousand and one excuses and the poorest service I have ever come across. Moved elsewhere as soon as I could! Disgraceful customer service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Solihull
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Have been with BT for a long time. Never had any problems. Re ently upgraded to fibre (FREE) and all is excellent.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    BOURNE
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    We have a complete package:-
    Broadband
    Telephone
    Two Mobiles
    TV
    Backup WIFI hub.
    Service calls free.
    We only have to deal with one contact.
    Unlimited Telephone calls.
    Unlimited Mobile calls and Data.
    Total Price £100/month
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Noss Mayo
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    BT Best speed on a good day will be in the region of 3meg which is pretty poor. Giggerclaer promise the earth at 30mb but are way behind schedule and reviews from their existing customers dont bode well. BT is only option using old copper cable and we are some distance away from their box. On one outage BT said we had internal fault which we had to disprove at a cost to us! Only then did they send out an Open Reach engineer.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Leigh
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Disgraceful,never ever reply.
    Bt hub the worst piece of trash there is,not happy.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Farnborough
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I'm have been using BT Broadband from September 2017 (on 18 months contract bases). Generally, speed is exceptionally good (I can't say great or outstanding) but occasionally (once in 2 or 3 weeks) connection will drop, and the router will reboot itself and connects you back again. I'm okay with that as long as it connects without any issues.

    However, the main problem with BT is its customer service. One needs to wait a long period in the call to get connected to customer service. Once connected, the customer service executive will listen to your query and raise a complaint saying, somebody will call us to resolve the issue. A couple of days/weeks later someone will call us and give some penny's compensation and do nothing about the issue. A month or 2 later the same issue again and the same process again. Awful service.

    Apart from the these issues, I have been cheated on the contract term even though I have evidence in writing. It all started with my home move in 2019. I asked to move the services to the new address well in advance (requested placed on 8th July 2019 to move the services to the new home on 29th July 2019). During the call, the customer service executive said that I have to do the re-contract for 18 months again (originally my contract was 18 months) at the same price as before else I have to pay £120. I was happy to re-contract at same price rather than paying £120. I received a mail with the new contract terms wich saying like this "Package - Broadband and Calls
    Because you're moving home, your line rental contract will be renewed for 12 months, starting when your phone service starts at your new address. Unless we've agreed otherwise, any other contracts you have will continue until their original end dates." I called customer service again and reconfirmed about the contract length (18 months). However, on the day of the move (29th July 2019) received a text message stating that there are some technical issues, the services move will be delayed. On 5th Aug 2019, I was back on broadband.

    Fast forward to April 2020, BT started charging me more than my contract price from March 2020 bill. I called customer service and got to know my contract is expired. I was on call for 1.5 hours trying to explain my contract was not expired stating to the mail I received during the home move. If I was re-contracted for 12 months or 18 months, I will still be in the contract considering my services at the new home started on 5th Aug 2019 (it's been 9 months from the move). No matter however I try to explain to him, he is in no mood to listen to my explanation. He said BT will consider the time I spent at the old address into 18 months contract. I was referring to the mail I received during the move but he replied they can't listen to the calls recorded during the move (considering very old). He insisted to do re-contract to avoid extra charges. I declined and ended the contract. I felt like I have been cheated.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Useless customer service, useless technicians who blame you and your devices for the slow connection. When they have fault they tell 2 different stories to 2 people in the same household. How nice ?
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cambridge
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    We called BT help line like 10 times now and they all seem to be useless! The worst service ever rude and very unhelpful!! The internet is keep loosing signal all the time and all they say is that on they side it shows that is working just fine! ********!!! We paying so much money each month and they won't even try to solve the problem and if we want to finish the contract earlier we have to pay extra money!!! How does it work??? Really?!?! If you cant provide my house with a internet which doesn't keep disconecting how can you keep taking money from us!!! They won't even send anyone to check it or try to fix it... still same excuse, they say that it's working fine! That's just disgusting customer service and ripping people off!!! I wont recommend it to anyone!! There is so many different internat options on the market!! BT is a massive scam with the worse customer service ever!!!! I hope people relise soon how **** you are and this company goes down and whoever the rude woman was on the phone I hope you loose your job and end up on the streets as that is what you deserve for taking people money without providing the service you promised!!! BYE
  • Reviewer
    Location
    lancing
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Utterly appalling service. Took at 18mths contract with BT, the rep on the phone convinced me to take BT TV though not that bothered about. Didnt mentioned that taking this extends broadband contract to 24mths and because I didnt read the small print as assumed it was 18mths as discussed am not signed in for 6mths longer than I thought and broadband offer only ran for 18mths so now paying more. This is an elaborate con and was miss-sold. Never to with BT again
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have used BT for the last few years and the internet would cut out once or twice a day despite having their fastest package and living in central london. I tolerated this.
    I have now not had working internet for 4 weeks; 2 weeks completely dead and the last 2 weeks works 50% of the time at 2.3mbs

    This has been incredibly frustrating and BT have no way to improve this. I have subsequently released myself from the contract. Good bye, for ever!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    bradford
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    wat a load of poo but super broadband is .. i wouldn't recommend it to no one at all.. its sooo slow .. i spoke to 3 people from Customer services .. 2 were okay and one was jus very rude .. the broadband is NOT RELIABLE AT ALL and speed test is a load of bull too .. Trust me and stay well away from bt .. absolutely waste of time
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Derbyshire
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    I have been with BT for a number of years, since I moved out, and have always had broadband with BT. We are now moving house so we had to cancel for the short term as we are moving back to my parents. Because of the covid-19 outbreak everything has been put on hold. Having only beenndisconnecred for 1 week I called BT to ask if we could temporarily re connect, taking into account the current situation. They said there was no way they could do that and all I could do was sign up for a 24 month contract. I would have thought they could help out loyal customers but obviously not. I wont ever be using BT again.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Pure garbage internet barely ever works I'm literally plugged in via ethernet and I can hardly load this website.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    EAST MOLESEY
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I pay for infinity 2 and have a guaranteed download speed of between 65 - 75 Mbit but all I'm getting is 6mb. Cant get through to BT Can't even make a complaint as it goes around and round on their website. Absolute C**p
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Inverness
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Robbing, scum bag thieves, would be a polite way of describing BT, my parents have been BT customers for over 40 years, I recently discovered they have been paying £52 per month for broadband and weekend calls. Here is the laugh, THEY DONT USE THE INTERNET, they were miss-sold this package without knowing the valve of what this type of package should cost, when I complained as their son, not only did i have to deal with the most condescending, patronising and rude customer services, but their response was that these accounts are self administered, how can you self administer when you do not use the internet?? if i had not have found out how much they were paying, then BT would still have been quietly taking their money, against their agreement with Ofcom!! I have asked them to refund these payments, they refused and offered £40 as good will gesture with an ultimatum, absolute scum in my opinion, avoid BT at all costs, the same package that BT had been supplying is available elsewhere for lest than £20
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Benfleet
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Owing to the extreme circumstances we are experiencing at the moment, my daughter needed to work from home. I did spend a long time on the phone, but met some lovely people whilst doing so; all extremely pleasant and helpful. I had a poor signal in the room my daughter needed to work in and BT were able to help me sort this out.

    If you need to ring BT, please be aware that the people on the other end of the line are doing their best in extremely difficult times. Be patient and be kind!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Manchester
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely terrible experience, probably the worst company in the history of telecommunications. Very pricey for low quality broadband unless you have a contract with them in which case you can not escaoe from them. I tried cancelling the service after my contract ended and had a horrible experience. The broadband was less than 10 Mbps. I was not able to cancel the service successfully and they continued adding extra fees to my bill for late payment even though I made it clear I will be cancelling my account. On top of that I had to wait for over 30 minutes in line before I gave up but at the same time I was being charged for a phone call. If I could give 0 stars I would have.
    I have honestly never experienced any customer service as deceiving, money-grabbing and horrible in my life.

    Please do your research before choosing a broadband supplier. I would hated to see valnurable people getting exploited by BT.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    STAFFORD
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely disgusting customer service. My father died last Wednesday after being in hospital for 7 weeks prior to his death.
    Tried to contact BT on Friday to cancel the contract but unable to get through. Today, I managed to fet through, however cancellation will only take affect from today...not when he died.
    Just a money grabbing, inferior broadband company.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Streathm
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Terrible broadband slow issues with internet at times sometimes wifi is slower than other days wifi router restarts on its own and take long to reset itself you pay for a service and don't receive the speed you of for still slow nd not a difference when buying a different pack
  • Reviewer
    Location
    winchester
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    TERRIBLE service. Penalised for being loyal- still paying £45/month when they are offering the same service far cheaper (£20/month). Do they not have a duty of care to inform you of better packages? PLUS I was getting 2-3mB not the 30mb minimum... compensation of £20 IF I signed up to a new contract! Absolutely appalling.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Kilwinning
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Had BT for 2 months now, had several issues, slow speed was the first. Guaranteed minimum speed of 32Mbps, any time i run a test with nothing else connected but my laptop, i'm lucky to get anything above 22Mbps. Phoned BT, customer support was good and attentive, they identified a fault, the BT engineer came out, and was receiving above 30Mbps. Four weeks later, it keeps dropping out, reported again, there is another fault with the line, speed is slow again. Waiting on it to be 'fixed'. Not holding my breath that it will stay fixed.
    Also you should note, that with my previous broadband provider, the router where it was placed offered a solid wi-fi signal throughout the house. With the BT router, in the same location, the wi-fi signal is very patchy. This can only be on purpose to encourage you to spend additional on their wi-fi extender at £100 each.
    I will be considering my options over the course of the next couple of months.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Thetford
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    If I could rate 0 stars I would.
    This is the first time I've EVER wrote a review about internet providers..
    BT is horrible from the service itself, to the support "they offer."
    *AT LEAST* twice a night, my router will turn off/disconnect broadband randomly during movies, games, etc.
    There are no reports of outage or weather problems. Just an awesome added benefit you purchase along with your package.
    Aside from when the actual service deciding to work on it's own will, you will not get what you pay for. Speeds are fairly reduced from the actual amount (and package you believed to have had) to pay.

    To sum up this review, save your time. Save your money. Save your countless frustrations. Find a different more reliable service before you're stuck like me!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Bt is a joke, not funny.
    Very bad internet company.. they take more than two weeks to send an engineer to install the broadband, then he doesn’t show up and they give you another two weeks to wait.. Awful customers service, they don’t know how to deal with problems and people. I wouldn’t suggest it to anyone. I’m using it only because if I don’t I have to pay a year contract anyway, but it’s taking almost half a year to get my broadband working so... choose something else, anything.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Brighton
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Paying for fast speed get just 12.5mb its appalling,and you cannot speak to a person to get resolved.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Surrey
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Shocking service, kept on hold for half an hour each time to then be told there’s a fault and your internet will be turned on no later than midnight tonight. Check the internet the next morning, still no internet and repeat this process every day for a week! And guess what, still no internet and still left on hold for half an hour when you call!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Norfolk
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Awful - don’t go with this awful company! They do nothing but lie, cheat and make up excuses. Do not give them your time or money
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheshire
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The worst customer service i have ever experienced.
    They can change your plan without telling you. They renew your plan without telling you. Then they tell you your "discount" runs out then extends your contract past this point and then double your prices.
    The manager that we spoke to was argumentative, withholding information and rude.
    Ill never use BT Again.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Grange over sands
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Just had my final bill come in. I have been a customer of bt for the last five years and never missed an expensive monthly payment. My final bill is a criminal £307 that is literally just my cancellation fee! Won't ever be using BT again
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Harrow
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The most horrific broadband service I have ever known. If you’re reading this then please don’t frustrate yourself further by joining BT broadband. It never works especially on weekends when it’s required the most. I have made the biggest mistake by joining them. They have also been overcharging me every month and when I complained nothing happened. I’m being charged £4-5 every month on my bill even though I’m on a fixed contract. When I rang up to enquire they told me we have increased it while I was in a contract fixed at the outset ??? Here’s the thing it NEVER works
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Frome
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I have been with this supplier B.T. over 10 years but now disappointed with the cost.
    They did warn me of contract ending but now on expensive standing one.
    The speed and reliable service is good but now considering a change due to cost and will do so if not reduced to a common cost of other providers in this area.
    The only concern I have is the loss of service by doing so.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely horrible. Always disconnecting
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Solihull
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I am pretty sure that some of the less favourable reviews are concocted by other broadband companies to put you off using BT. Maybe I am one of tjhe ucky ones, but in all honesty I have had excellent servic e from BT. The only time I had to have an engineer in, was because of my own stupidity when making connection between the PC and router. I have found over the last seven years that the broaDBAnd has NEVER failed, that the speed is most satisfactory and the price is admittedly high, but it's the old story- you get what you pay for.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Lancashire
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Very flaky broadband, difficult to report due to lack of customer service. Phone line does work sometimes! Would not recommend
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Norfolk
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Is there a worse company than BT? I placed an order and had confirmation of it two weeks ago. It was supposed to be activated today. Having heard nothing I rang them this morning to see what's going on. Apparently the order HASN'T been processed because Openreach think there are two lines into this property. There aren't. They don't know the number of the phantom line and didn't bother to contact me, they just did nothing. Absolutely lousy service. I'm thinking I've dodged a bullet.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Newmarket
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Really stay well clear of BT completely the worst company to deal with . I have been informed that Sky are more customer friendly , BT staff do not care completely unfair have had issues since 13th December 2019

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.