BT Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for BT.

Recent Customer Ratings for BT

  • Satisfaction
    3.2 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.2 stars
  • Speed
    2.9 stars
  • Reliability
    3.1 stars

Based on 3463 customer ratings since 2021-05-19 (Show all time ratings)

Visit BT   Read our BT buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

3,276 Customer Reviews over 82 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Penzance
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Comments
    Appalling customer service. Been without broadband for over a month now. Mistake after mistake. Avoid at all costs
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    BT is one of the big providers, so service and speed are okay. Customer service has been okay too - when the engineer finally did come out, they actually managed to fix our problem.

    However, prices rise a lot each and every year (and they’re most definitely not currently even trying to support their customers during a cost of living crisis, because they just emailed to say that from April 2022, they’re increasing their prices well above and beyond the Consumer Price Index rise, to perfectly co-incide with the new tax (levy), rise in the gas price cap , and many other cost of living issues). BT only cares about profit and not its customers. Sadly, there aren’t that many providers to chose from. I wish they cared more and didn’t increase their prices by so much at this difficult time for so many.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cardiff
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Appalling experience, we've had continual issues with BT for the three years we've been with them, we'll log an issue and they keep closing the ticket without resolving the issue. I work from home full time and have been hotspotting my mobile data for the last week. They've done so little to try and resolve this
  • Reviewer
    Location
    PRESTON
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    So this review is about how long I have to wait for an appointment to fix a fault 3 weeks what a joke. I hope the speed is ok or they will be getting binned and back to virgin media
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cornwall
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Beyond abysmal. No service for 4.5 (no broadband, landline or mobile) and what's more no compensation (because it wasn't reported within 2 days of fault occurring. They won't accept that I wasn't able to report fault until the service resumed 4.5 days later. They are rude, intransigent, overpriced and way too smug - they simply don't care about normal residential users.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Had poor reception for years but did nothing , decided to change broadband supplier, then they decide to offer discounted offers new router , had the same outdated router for years ,why is this don’t know why I put up with this for years poor service, the guy at bthad no answers
    All but agree with me .
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ipswich
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Like another reviewer I left BT about 5 years ago as I found their call centre support abysmal.
    This time I was looking for a supplier who could deliver Fibre to the Home ( this had recently become available but my current supplier did not offer this).
    After shopping around I decided on BT) as they offered my a very attractive deal for 500Mbps with voip (we needed to retain our landline number). I placed my order on a Friday and they replied with a detailed schedule of all work (external works, delivery of router and included VOIP handset, and internal works/commissioning.
    All went to schedule and the service went live 2 1/2 weeks later. The speed of the service is exactly as quoted ie 500 down / 73 up. Even the VOIP service was live before the Openreach engineer had packed his tools away.
    The field staff and the call centre people could not be faulted.
    The My BT app is very good also.
    It seems to me that BT have transformed their business processes.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Salisbury
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    BT offered to upgrade me from BT Halo 1 to Halo 3 for nil extra cost. Having spoken to their customer services adviser, I realised that theres no benefit from 1 to 3 at all, its just a way of tying me into a contract for another 2 years. When I pointed this out to the BT advisor, she hung up! Also, the adviser tried to sell me an unlimited call plan on the basis that we make 145 minutes + of calls per month. This is a nonsense, we barely use the landline for calls as we have mobiles. Shocking, and not what I'd expect from a supposedly reputable company.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    london
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Comments
    the worst bd band ever do not waste your time. 4 weeks waiting to fix the problen . still waiting.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    North Lincs
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Mostly it seems people only write reviews when they are unhappy with a service.
    We left BT many years ago when they had overseas call centres and the service was shocking.
    Reluctantly went back when Openreach installed FTTP and BT were the only company to offer high speed BB.
    The service has been excellent, we got 3 boosters so good wifi throughout a latge stone house. The speed is as promised around 70mbps and there have been no issues.
    It's not the cheapest BB out there but compared to the 7mbps we got from Sky it's a whole different league.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    It is a rubbish and bad broadband service from BT.

    I first use their broadband and i waited more than two weeks to get broadband since the date I signed the contract and it delayed everything

    The speed is too low, today I cannot connect again.

    DO not use their broadband and stay away at all cost.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Torquay
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    Comments
    Total crap . Terrible customer service.
    Despite the adverts saying that you get the same service in all rooms or you get 100 pounds refund.....you don't!
    I live in a 3 bedroom house. 2 rooms you get almost no reception.
    Also it drops out daily. And although b.t. say they will send someone around ...noone turns up and I took a day off work to wait in for nothing. Crap company.. crap service .crap product.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Milton Keynes
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    For the third time I had to call your services. I have a Broadband and TV contract with you. In all the cases I had to wait around 35 minutes. Then someone picks up the phone. I try to talk and the person on the other side pretend not to listen, then disconnects. Then I have to stay on the queue an awful long time again to be served. I am getting tired of this behavior and will think twice when contract renewal time comes knocking. Your costumer services needs loads of improvement.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Oxford
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    BT credited our account for a day outside their service visit


    Thank you BT . Service we experienced was excellent. I suppose this is why we moved away from Virgin. Victor
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Thetfordnorfolk
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    Comments
    Dreadful, at last my 24 months is up. Dreadful wireless, promised speeds of 49-53, barely hitting 29. Bt wanting to dig up my path. No fault there sir, rubbish rubbish rubbish. Constantly having to reboot as speeds at 7mbps. Avoid at all costs. Youll start off good, within a month they willhave restrictions in place
  • Reviewer
    Location
    york
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    you wont find much worse than this garbage bad service useless engineer impossible to get assistance the worst i have ever been involved with
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Weymouth
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I oder changer phone line from December 2021 to now ( 2-1-2022) keep waiting how good service for bt
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Maesteg
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The worst broadband service I have ever had it's so poor always dropping out of connection and bt are useless to fix the problem
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Tipton, West Midlands, England
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Customer service vice doesn't listen better off talking to my dog
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Manchesyer
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Had BT for over a year not many issues 50mbps was abit slow so tried going for 100mbps and upgrade contract as contract ended… rang them up to upgrade quoted 34.99 for 100mbps where sky, plus net are offering around £30-32 same speed just asked if they can match the price saves me headche cancellation & new order over £3 …guess what he said to me BT is a mutli billion pound company not market
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Spalding
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Moved from EE on 10th December due to moving house and the man from EE said we could get a better deal with their sister company (BT) on an 18 month contract. Ordered and waited for equipment to arrive.

    Went to set up new account and direct debit on to discover BT themselves had cancelled the order straight after we ordered it so no internet was available even though they sent us a new router. By now it was 18th December.

    The package was re ordered but because of Christmas did not go live till 30th December so spent all of Christmas with no internet, or TV as Sky couldn’t move their package without a broadband connection.

    29th December another router arrives, plug it all in, set it all up and happy days it works…..

    But……

    Today (25th January) internet went off. Phone BT for help to be told we don’t have an account, no record of our line and that they can’t understand why we have had internet as we are not one of their customers. Was passed to an ‘early life’ specialist at BT who said that we had been running on a ‘temporary connection’ and this had been terminated as we didn’t have a contract. After sending them copies of all the documentation and the fact I have a BT phone and router that they sent less than a month ago they then said that our contract application had not completed successfully and openreach had not completed the line set up hence been disconnected. If we wished to cancel and start again they would attempt to again supply a service but it would take them 3 weeks to set us up. We were then asked to pay for the 4 weeks we have been supplied on a ‘pay as you go basis’ which they will email an invoice for, even though we paid for the package they messed up and terminated in the first place and they took the direct debit payment.

    Finally managed to speak to a manager who in the end agreed to refunding me based on me not reporting them to the ombudsman which I’ve done anyway.

    Sky broadband now ordered, 49p per month cheaper, faster speed and connection on Tuesday. They even threw in a free Wi-Fi extender and any problems setting up give them a call and they will have one of their engineers on site that day to help.

    Don’t bother with BT!!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    NORWICH
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    do not trust BT__avoid.
    new customer. a week after bt still did not send the router.
    customer service lying everyday that it will arrive next day..it has not
    customer service rude and defensive
    manager did not wanted to talk to customer
  • Reviewer
    Location
    The worst BT broadband company in the UK
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The worst BT broadband company in the UK
    I have tried to be a good customer for BT Boadband for over 15 years although I have always had problems with internet speed especially with WiFi, I was stupid to stay with them for a long time. If I call and ask for help, many of them hang up without explanation. I advise everyone better to choose someone else but no BT broadband.
    Really bad company Internet is very slow, If I could rate it O I would.
    Talk complete rubbish, tell you everything you want to hear and deliver nothing, Don't waist your time to customer service, 
  • Reviewer
    Location
    The worst BT broadband company in the UK
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The worst BT broadband company in the UK
    I have tried to be a good customer for BT Boadband for over 15 years although I have always had problems with internet speed especially with WiFi, I was stupid to stay with them for a long time. If I call and ask for help, many of them hang up without explanation. I advise everyone better to choose someone else but no BT broadband.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolute trash. This company got me to lose income til the point of not being able to pay my bills and rent!
    Do not use this company!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Canterbury
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    THE WORSE INTERNET PROVIDER EVER.. The internet access stops everyday at 1pm and the internet speed is 8mb download and 0,50 MB upload although we bought the 50 MB bundle. We call the customer service every time and they always say different reasons and promise to fix ASAP and nothing happens always. This made me lose lots of work I am doing due to the internet access stopping every time and making me change my plans due to the internet speed, and I can't change this company because they want me to pay lots of money for the exit fees.

    I am going to pay the exit fees and leave this company even if it's £1000, because I am fed up with this WORSE SERVICE AND INTERNET EVER..........

    Count to 1000 before you join BT, and after you count, DO NOT join. Go to vodafone much better.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Great Yarmouth
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Could'nt organise a drink in a brewery. I'm at 5 visits in from OpenReach and not going anywhere fast. Useless service and no communication. For a communication company you would hope thgey would communicate but they dont. It's like talking to a brick wall, in fact I would prefer to talk to a brick wall as I would get more sense out of it.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Dronfield
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    After a very long time on line !!!- spoke with 3 Operators? Yes 3 - Spoke with all of them - the last one appeared to be reading off a screen - and - was constantly being annoyed by some kind of "team Leader". Still have the same problem - caused by BT. Let us see them attempt to Dump this complaint.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Been with BT since July 2020, and they just tried to slap a £50 charge for equipment that I NEVER ordered let alone received! Phoned up, and was told that it was taken off the account just for services to be taken offline few days later. Sickening.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bathgate
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Full fibre cable installed in our bones building as promised on 6 December 2021 but not possible to switch on.
    Issue outside our building.
    6 weeks without Broadband. Very limited information - 3 brief texts - in spite of repeated attempts to contact.
    1 call centre operative very pleasant and professional but unable to help.
    We have closed the charity office as we are unable to operate without broadband. The 514 members of our social inclusion charity depend on us for prevention of isolation and depression and help with interaction with each other.

    Latest date for review by BT has been given ias 11January at which time we have threatened, if we do not have a working service, to cancel our contract with the worst broadband installer ever?
    Let’s see what tomorrow brings.

    BT - Blooming Terrible.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Leeds
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Constantly having to reconnect to my sky q box rang bt but after setting change ect still rubbish, cant wait for contract to end over rated and expensive, far better providers out there
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Essex
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    BT is a disappointment!


    I have made a new order with BT on Black Friday.
    The gentleman who spoke to me was extremely polite and helpful and gave a good deal. Nonetheless, I have waited 30 days to have my money back service up and running, and the day before my service is supposed to go live, I Called BT.


    I called BT and explained that an engineer has been booked (since the end of November) to complete some work and install the required equipment, for my service to go live tomorrow.
    During the call, I was presented with new information that the engineers have been trying to contact the building management society, since the 1st of December, and have not obtained a response.


    I explained to the advisor on the phone that I should have been notified of what is going on, so I could have made the required arrangements to sort out this issue.
    I also stated that it has been 30 days and that in the last 2 weeks, BT employees have been conduction research/work in my residential area. I mentioned that I was failing to understand why they did not notice that something was NOT right. My point is, I am not the only BT customer in Essex; if they are sending letters and not receiving a response from the building society, is there no other way to contact them?
    Could they not have sent an email or called them?
    I asked the advisor and he stated that he received a 'note' from the engineer at "1 minute ago" stating that " they tried to contact the building management 3x and if they do not receive a response the order will be cancelled".
    I now ask if they can write a letter and send it so swiftly, could they have NOT avoided this issue?!


    I am extremely disappointed and shocked that BT has this level of lack of professionalism and sense of responsibility. The advisor enquired if I, the customer, could chase up the building management and seek authorization so they can conduct their work. It is not my responsibility to do their work, and it is quite outrageous that he proposed that to me.
    I clearly said that I would not do it as it is their responsibility and duty to get the required authorizations and provide me with solutions and not problems.


    I was told that if the issue is not resolved by 10/01/2022, my order will be cancelled and a new order out through.


    I now have to wait 10 days for this issue to be resolved when if BT and its engineers had been professional and provided good customer service, we could have come up with better solutions for both parties.


    I regret to say that BT has proven to be as bad and as appalling as other internet providers and that customers should be aware of lack of professionalism and customer service skills.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Shrewsbury
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Was receiving poor download speed and BT decided to send out an engineer. I asked whether I should call and cancel the appointment if the problem resolved itself and was told no. Engineer arrived and the problem had resolved itself. BT engineer made a passing comment about a 3rd party extender we use for a games console but as the only device connected to this is a games console and not the two laptops (laptop always uses an Ethernet cable into the modem) it wasn’t an issue. Next month we receive an £85 bill stating that the engineer (not employed by BT but a company named qube) said that the extender was causing the problem. Spoke with BT who will not do anything stating that they can only go of the notes from a 3rd party engineer. Effectively being charged £85 for having a 3rd party booster in the house. Now told the only way to get a refund is to speak with this 3rd party company and have them change the notes? Although we have been given no contact details for them.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Warrigton Cheshire
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    Comments
    Always very helpful today they sorted out a problem regarding a scam call and refunded cost. Well done BT
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Tamworth
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Talk complete rubbish, tell you everything you want to hear and deliver nothink. Dont waist your time to customer service, you will be on hold for ever to then be cut off. Will be switching definitely.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sleaford
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Ordered broadband for 13th of December.Doesnt work even now on 24th of december. Engineers missed 3 appointsments only 1 out of 4 appointsments where succesfull i lost so much money waiting for them to never even get message saying they wont show up. After I called i kept getting different excuse. Now I got yet another my 5th appointment for 30th and who the hell knows if they will show up bt staff sure as hell doesnt.Ridiculous avoid at all costs
  • Reviewer
    Location
    RM16
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Probably the worst service provider to our home.
    Lost count how many times broadband has crashed, requiring a phone call to get restarted.
    Have no option than to find a new broadband provider.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    york
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    the worst service I have ever experienced After switching from sky we are back with sky with in one month Absolute garbidge BAD BAD BAD BAD no stars is the rating they deserve
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reading
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Pros are being a big company, you can always speak to customser service, they will try to help and will send engineer. Broadband quality is generally OK and reliable. Cons are they are expensive and Also they are hopeless at house moves. something always goes wrong.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Dudley
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Really bad company Internet is very slow at some points I was only getting 3mg ring up tell you what you what you want to hear and then do nothing to sort it this went on for 3 years now with sky loads better 60gb minimum now bt are trying to say I ow them money I don't think so considering they never met there end of the deal

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.